SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Tilt your machine

Viewed 5363 times
Posted by: tweedcurtain
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tweedcurtain star
BC CANADA
Member since: 6/11/06
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/13/08 1:44 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Featured in the PR book!
To reduce neck and shoulder fatigue, I tilt my portable sewing machine by placing a 3 ring looseleaf office binder (mine is about 2 inches wide at the spine) under my machine. This forms a wedge that raises the bed of the machine up about two inches at an angle, increasing visibility. The front of the machine sits on the thin part of the wedge, and the back of the machine sits on or near the spine edge of the binder, or thickest part of the wedge. It doesn't slip or move, and I don't need to crane my neck or hunch over my work. Try it with any binder you have on hand (it doesn't have to be empty) and see if this tip eases neck tension and improves visibility while you sew.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Donna H said...
I also heard that rubber doorstops work well. Thanks.
9/13/08 11:43 AM
Melinda In Tulsa said...
good tip, thanx!
9/13/08 12:12 PM
glenj said...
i agree with donna.rubber doorstops work well and don't slip
9/13/08 7:09 PM
SusiM said...
Hmmm..thanks. I'm going to try that.
9/14/08 0:19 AM
PoppyB said...
Too bad I didn't read this before spending the money I did on a commercial product that does the same thing. However, that was money well spent, and really eliminated the pain I was experiencing while doing intricate applique work for a very large art quilt. Tilting the machines (I do it for the serger, too) makes a big difference!
9/14/08 6:49 AM
Sharon1952 said...
I have the same basic idea only I made mine out of 3 pieces of wood. It is absolutely amazing how it helps with next fatigue when you are doing lots of sewing.
9/14/08 12:32 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Great idea! Thanks
9/14/08 1:19 PM
woole bully said...
what a great idea! can't wait to try it.
9/14/08 5:45 PM
jeanharville said...
Same thing works with a computer, you can tilt the screen in an angle away form you just like what you'er saying about the sewing machine. That will relieve the neck and back pain when you're on the computer.
9/15/08 9:39 AM
shesflipped said...
Great tip! Thanks so much for sharing it!
9/15/08 1:14 PM
Gigil said...
Kind of like what I do with my laptop. I've seen this tip before but haven't tried it. Will now.
9/15/08 2:13 PM
Annette1 said...
Great idea! I'm definitely going to give this a go. Thanks!
9/16/08 12:56 PM
Basira said...
Tilting the machine is a great idea. But the empty notebook makes the machine a bit wobbly.
10/12/08 3:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.