SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Split knit cuffs-DVF style

Viewed 5210 times
Posted by: loohoo44
photo

 
 
About loohoo44 star
CA USA
Member since: 2/25/07
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/22/08 6:55 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This is a picture tutorial for making split cuffs in a knit, like those found on the Vogue 8379 wrap dress. I copied a Diane von Furstenberg dress borrowed from a friend, and tried to duplicate the method used. I remember being confused by the Vogue directions the first time, hopefully the pictures will help. This method has a neater inside finish than you get using the Vogue instructions.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Karine said...
thanks for the great tutorial! I've always wanted to do split cuffs like that. Your step-by-step photos make it really clear.
9/23/08 8:55 AM
jeanharville said...
Thanks. Your tutorial is very easy to understand and I hope to use it soon.
9/23/08 9:19 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great tutorial! Your pictures and instructions are very clear and easy to understand.
9/23/08 8:26 PM
sewtime said...
Thank you for the great tutorial! I can hardly wait to use it!
9/26/08 0:28 AM
ryansmumAria said...
This is so exciting! Thank you for sharing. I am a teacher and was once taught this method but could not recall the steps and have been hoping no one would ask me how to do this! I love it. THANks
9/26/08 2:46 AM
homewerk said...
Thanks! I have my Vogue 8379 cut out and ready to sew this weekend. Now I'll know how to construct its cuffs. Excellent photography with clear, succinct captions.
9/26/08 1:19 PM
AnnMarieJ said...
This is a truly excellent tutorial. I am so excited to try this method! Thank you for writing this out and photographing it in so much detail!
1/23/09 9:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.