SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Binding Tutorial

Viewed 5370 times
Posted by: Meggie LuLu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Meggie LuLu starstarstarstar
OK United States
Member since: 1/26/08
Reviews written: 163
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 117 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/28/08 10:01 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 15 people   Very Helpful by 54 people   
Here is my way of doing bindings. I have made it easier to follow by taking pictures. Here are Step 1 and 2 Here are Step 3 and 4. Here are Step 5 and 6. Here are Step 7 and 8.

Cross-over Binding

Here are Step 1 and 2. Here are Step 3 and 4. Here are Step 5 and 6.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


35 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
Thanks!
9/29/08 0:05 AM
fourkid said...
Ahhh, just in time - I am on this step to finish up a dress in the morning. Thanks.
9/29/08 1:16 AM
ryansmumAria said...
I am so impressed! My crystal ball tells me we will all be learning alot from you in the future!
9/29/08 8:42 AM
Bernie R. said...
The photos are great!
9/29/08 9:39 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Very clear! Thank you!
9/29/08 10:35 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
thanks so much...a picture is worth a thousand words.
9/29/08 11:47 AM
MaryL said...
Thanks, Meggie. Very nice, clear pics.
9/29/08 11:51 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
What a wonderful tutorial, Meggie. And your stitching is so very neat. Your new avatar photo is very pretty, as well. -Lily
9/29/08 1:15 PM
Karine said...
Thanks for the tutorial - the pictures make it very clear.
9/29/08 5:24 PM
MRF said...
Very nice explanatory photos.
9/29/08 5:43 PM
snapdragonfly said...
Lovely, thank you.
9/29/08 9:32 PM
MiamiNice said...
wonderful. thank you!
9/30/08 1:45 PM
SueBh said...
What a great idea to clarify by using photos. Thanks for going to this trouble for us.
9/30/08 2:25 PM
j222b said...
It seems you do not pull the seam binding tighter when placing it on the neck of the shirt? MEGGIE LULU thanks for getting back! I thought the binding might be smaller than the neck edge, but I couldn't tell from the pictures.
10/1/08 12:56 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
I have a question. Don't you have to make the binding smaller than the neckline and stretch it a little? If so, how much small does it need to be? (this is where my problem is with regard to binding necklines)
10/1/08 2:57 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Beth Pierce and j222b, in this shirt the binding is approximately 3 inches smaller than the neck opening. The stretch will vary when using different types of knit. I wish I could give a scientific formula. I usually take the binding when it is flat and trial pin it stretching slightly around the neck to check if a binding will be too small or too large with the type of fabric I am using before sewing it into a circle.
10/1/08 4:23 PM
trailblazerbarbie said...
thanks for the tuts...I really like the first one, makes alot of sense. Could you use this on any basic shirt?
10/1/08 6:57 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
trailblazerbarbie, If you were using a a knit, yes. If you were using a woven fabric then you would need to check and make sure the neck opening fits over your head before adding the binding. If it doesn't, then, you might need to add a zipper or a different type of closure.
10/1/08 7:19 PM
sewtime said...
Thank you for all the good work. Love you photos, you have made binding simple.
10/7/08 6:36 PM
Riyazi said...
it's very helpful to me and i want to learn more about attaching the binding in different ways
10/8/08 2:39 PM
Yvonski said...
CONGRATULATIONS. Very clearly illustrated even the least experienced sewer will be able to follow. Well done.
10/13/08 4:25 AM
Annette1 said...
GREAT tutorial, Meggie! I'm bookmarking it. :o)
11/21/08 2:02 AM
denisedh said...
Thanks Meggie and especially for the pics! I appreciate the time you took to do this for us! It has helped me a lot!
12/30/08 8:46 PM
AnnMarieJ said...
Wonderful tutorial, very helpful. Now where do I find those matching binding fabrics?!
1/23/09 9:32 PM
lonestardancer said...
This is GREAT! Thanx so much for taking the time to take the pix and post to PR. That is alot of work in and of itself. You ROCK! THANK YOU!
1/27/09 10:35 AM
Chicago Sewer said...
i enjoyed specific topics like this. the pictures are better than words. very methodical explanation. good work!
1/27/09 10:55 AM
Janfan123 said...
Very helpful Meggie, nice clear pics.
1/27/09 9:07 PM
peggytil said...
I like this technique.
1/28/09 10:30 AM
dzy said...
is binding cut on the bias? Other than that, very helpful.
1/28/09 4:06 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
dzy, I cut my binding on the straight grain line. Thanks everyone for the nice comments!!
1/29/09 11:37 PM
21wale said...
Thanks for the tutorial. Some people just need pictures (:
2/8/09 5:52 PM
Annette1 said...
Thanks, Meggie! Just reviewed again, since I'm on a sewing FRENZY with my new Ottobre V-neck tee pattern! :o)
2/14/09 3:17 PM
AMN said...
Another great tutorial, Meggie! I am also one of those who appreciates the pictures and simple explanations. Now, go beg your mom for a coverstitch machine, if you don't already have one. You deserve it! :)
3/6/09 12:44 PM
jilly cooper said...
Thank you. I love the photos - they are so clear and explain exactly what you are doing.
6/11/09 11:06 PM
Paris75008 said...
What a wonderful tutorial. You are really talented at giving explanations. You could make a career of this!
1/8/11 5:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.