Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Binding Tutorial (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5281 times
Review rated Helpful by 15 people   Very Helpful by 54 people   
Posted by: Meggie LuLu
photo
About Meggie LuLu starstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 1/26/08
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 117 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/28/08 10:01 PM
Here is my way of doing bindings. I have made it easier to follow by taking pictures. Here are Step 1 and 2 Here are Step 3 and 4. Here are Step 5 and 6. Here are Step 7 and 8.

Cross-over Binding

Here are Step 1 and 2. Here are Step 3 and 4. Here are Step 5 and 6.
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
Thanks!
9/29/08 0:05 AM
fourkid said...
Ahhh, just in time - I am on this step to finish up a dress in the morning. Thanks.
9/29/08 1:16 AM
ryansmumAria said...
I am so impressed! My crystal ball tells me we will all be learning alot from you in the future!
9/29/08 8:42 AM
Bernie R. said...
The photos are great!
9/29/08 9:39 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Very clear! Thank you!
9/29/08 10:35 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
thanks so much...a picture is worth a thousand words.
9/29/08 11:47 AM
MaryL said...
Thanks, Meggie. Very nice, clear pics.
9/29/08 11:51 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
What a wonderful tutorial, Meggie. And your stitching is so very neat. Your new avatar photo is very pretty, as well. -Lily
9/29/08 1:15 PM
Karine said...
Thanks for the tutorial - the pictures make it very clear.
9/29/08 5:24 PM
MRF said...
Very nice explanatory photos.
9/29/08 5:43 PM
snapdragonfly said...
Lovely, thank you.
9/29/08 9:32 PM
MiamiNice said...
wonderful. thank you!
9/30/08 1:45 PM
SueBh said...
What a great idea to clarify by using photos. Thanks for going to this trouble for us.
9/30/08 2:25 PM
j222b said...
It seems you do not pull the seam binding tighter when placing it on the neck of the shirt? MEGGIE LULU thanks for getting back! I thought the binding might be smaller than the neck edge, but I couldn't tell from the pictures.
10/1/08 12:56 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
I have a question. Don't you have to make the binding smaller than the neckline and stretch it a little? If so, how much small does it need to be? (this is where my problem is with regard to binding necklines)
10/1/08 2:57 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Beth Pierce and j222b, in this shirt the binding is approximately 3 inches smaller than the neck opening. The stretch will vary when using different types of knit. I wish I could give a scientific formula. I usually take the binding when it is flat and trial pin it stretching slightly around the neck to check if a binding will be too small or too large with the type of fabric I am using before sewing it into a circle.
10/1/08 4:23 PM
trailblazerbarbie said...
thanks for the tuts...I really like the first one, makes alot of sense. Could you use this on any basic shirt?
10/1/08 6:57 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
trailblazerbarbie, If you were using a a knit, yes. If you were using a woven fabric then you would need to check and make sure the neck opening fits over your head before adding the binding. If it doesn't, then, you might need to add a zipper or a different type of closure.
10/1/08 7:19 PM
sewtime said...
Thank you for all the good work. Love you photos, you have made binding simple.
10/7/08 6:36 PM
Riyazi said...
it's very helpful to me and i want to learn more about attaching the binding in different ways
10/8/08 2:39 PM
Yvonski said...
CONGRATULATIONS. Very clearly illustrated even the least experienced sewer will be able to follow. Well done.
10/13/08 4:25 AM
Annette1 said...
GREAT tutorial, Meggie! I'm bookmarking it. :o)
11/21/08 2:02 AM
denisedh said...
Thanks Meggie and especially for the pics! I appreciate the time you took to do this for us! It has helped me a lot!
12/30/08 8:46 PM
AnnMarieJ said...
Wonderful tutorial, very helpful. Now where do I find those matching binding fabrics?!
1/23/09 9:32 PM
lonestardancer said...
This is GREAT! Thanx so much for taking the time to take the pix and post to PR. That is alot of work in and of itself. You ROCK! THANK YOU!
1/27/09 10:35 AM
Chicago Sewer said...
i enjoyed specific topics like this. the pictures are better than words. very methodical explanation. good work!
1/27/09 10:55 AM
Janfan123 said...
Very helpful Meggie, nice clear pics.
1/27/09 9:07 PM
peggytil said...
I like this technique.
1/28/09 10:30 AM
dzy said...
is binding cut on the bias? Other than that, very helpful.
1/28/09 4:06 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
dzy, I cut my binding on the straight grain line. Thanks everyone for the nice comments!!
1/29/09 11:37 PM
21wale said...
Thanks for the tutorial. Some people just need pictures (:
2/8/09 5:52 PM
Annette1 said...
Thanks, Meggie! Just reviewed again, since I'm on a sewing FRENZY with my new Ottobre V-neck tee pattern! :o)
2/14/09 3:17 PM
AMN said...
Another great tutorial, Meggie! I am also one of those who appreciates the pictures and simple explanations. Now, go beg your mom for a coverstitch machine, if you don't already have one. You deserve it! :)
3/6/09 12:44 PM
jilly cooper said...
Thank you. I love the photos - they are so clear and explain exactly what you are doing.
6/11/09 11:06 PM
Paris75008 said...
What a wonderful tutorial. You are really talented at giving explanations. You could make a career of this!
1/8/11 5:58 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us