SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Raise cutting table with 2 metal chairs

Viewed 5145 times
Posted by: j222b
photo

 
 
About j222b
CA USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/24/08 11:26 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Ami Simms is a talented, quilter---perhaps you have heard of her or have made some of her quilt patterns. Her newsletter has helpful quilting hints (written by Ami and her dog). Many of Ami's suggestions can be applied to general sewing. NAYY

Recently her newsletter had a picture of a garden variety large school/church-lunchroom-type table that was elevated on 2 metal folding school/church-lunchroom-type chairs to raise the height of the table. This idea seems like it might be a good one. Disclaimer: I have not tried this raised table idea personally.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
CLEO said...
I use Bed Raisers that I put under the feet of my dining room table. They can be removed easily for dinner and the height is perfect. Here is a link:http://www.organize.com/neexsiblbedr.html
10/24/08 7:13 PM
Peggy said...
I just returned from a sewing retreat at a motel and the owner graciously gave us four large cans of tomato sauce to under the legs. Worked great. Not to lovely looking but it will do in a pinch
10/25/08 8:19 PM
Nancywin said...
If I put a table on two chairs, I think it would be too high for me. Seeing your photo above, I see how they did it, and it would work great if you were going somewhere to sew where they had those types of tables and chairs. I did pick up some bed risers at Walmart a few months ago, and this has worked great for my table at home. Thanks for the tip.
10/26/08 11:20 PM
Sew Shy said...
Bed risers did it for me. They're perfect.
10/27/08 3:04 PM
LaRae said...
We just did a Sew Day for our Quilts of Valor group and knew we would be doing a lot of cutting. My friend's husband cut 10 inch pieces of PVC pipe to put on the table legs. It worked perfectly! We used these taller tables for cutting fabric. Thesetables were the normal ones with the wide U shaped legs to them.
10/31/08 12:56 PM
Melinda In Tulsa said...
I use 4 (metal) coffee cans. The large size. Makes my banquet table the perfect height.
10/31/08 3:19 PM
j222b said...
Thanks for adding you helpful comments! There are many good ideas here!!
11/1/08 10:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.