SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Beautiful waistband for lined garment

Viewed 5309 times
Posted by: JenniferBee
photo

 
 
About JenniferBee star
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/3/03
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/31/08 9:42 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 34 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I was given a beautifully constructed skirt, that unfortunately didn't fit in the waist. When I started to unpick the waisband I discovered a new way to make a perfect narrow waistband.
Step 1: cut your waistband 2.5" (6cm) wide (I interfaced with a very light weight iron-on).
Step 2: sew to the skirt front with a 5/8" (1.5) seam and then sew the other side of the band to the lining, using the same seam allowance.
Step 3: Only trim the seam on the lining side of the band, the fabric side is folded and pressed to the inside of the band to provide more support.
Step 4: Fold the band in half and sew in the ditch from the right side.
You end up with a beautiful narrow waistband with the lining attached and no hand sewing.
I have posted photo's of each step in the above link.
Happy Sewing.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


19 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
corma said...
What an easy way to do this. Thank you Corma
7/11/09 11:38 PM
nhyira said...
Thanks alot i always struggle with waist bands, so its great to have this new way of perfecting my waist bands
2/27/09 7:50 PM
TexasPat said...
What a great tip. Once you explained it, it seems so obvious! Thank you very much.
12/24/08 6:46 PM
Dinosauarwoman said...
as a beginner sewer, this makes perfect sense to me....thanks!
12/13/08 6:22 PM
almost said...
WOW! I never thought of attaching the lining this way! Looks really easy and will help reduce the normal bulk at the waistband! Thank you very much for the picture, it made it very easy to understand.
11/8/08 12:32 PM
Annette Wright said...
Awesome!
11/7/08 4:31 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Very useful suggestion and beautifully illustrated by your photos. Thanks, Lily
11/7/08 1:04 PM
sew sr. said...
What a good idea
11/7/08 8:19 AM
petro said...
great idea, especially like the fact that the lining is sewn in at the same time, avoiding the extra bulk along the first constructed waistband seam.
11/3/08 6:31 AM
JenniferBee said...
cyndyann, I'm short waisted as well. I was so excited when I discovered this tecnique that I made DH have a look! :-)
11/2/08 2:37 PM
cindyann said...
Great idea! Thanks for the fantastic tip. I love a narrow waistband because I'm so short waisted.
11/2/08 11:25 AM
ryansmumAria said...
wow! I've never seen this done before. This is fabulous!
11/2/08 9:26 AM
newlywedws said...
This is how I've always done my lined skirts...best thing, it can sometimes be used to make reversible garments as well.
11/1/08 7:32 PM
Fran G said...
This is very clever! Similar to SW Mimosa pant, but your photos show how to accomplish with alined pant/skirt. Cool! And thanks for the photos!
11/1/08 7:38 AM
SusanK said...
I really like the clean look of this. Nice suggestion!
11/1/08 2:47 AM
Aless said...
Great tip,Jennifer!
11/1/08 2:11 AM
motomoda said...
Very clever! Thanks for sharing this.
11/1/08 1:42 AM
annie3 said...
wonderful, will try it.
10/31/08 10:35 PM
KempCorr said...
Thank you for sharing this.
10/31/08 10:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

More Info
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.