SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Make an Extra Large Thread Rack

Viewed 6640 times
Posted by: Diane Slade Inc
photo

 
 
About Diane Slade Inc star
MI USA
Member since: 9/28/07
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/12/08 4:58 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Make a Thread Rack with Peg board, dowels and wood glue from the hardware store!

It makes a sturdy hanging thread rack for holding serger style spools and smaller ones too. I used a dremel to cut the dowels and glued them on a slight angle. Cheaper than many, but not necessarily prettier. :)

Its on my blog:
http://thoughtsfromaseamstress.blogspot.com/2008/11/make-extra-large-thread-rack.html

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
quathy said...
I bought one of those Sulky empty thread boxes - half price of $25 - and thought it was a good deal. It's nice for the little spools, and I've been looking for something similar for my larger spools and specialty threads. But, with your idea, I could make my own serger thread box, and just put the board in a plastic tub... Brilliant idea! Thanks!
11/13/08 6:45 PM
loghome4 said...
Love the do-it-yourself answer! I have some pegboard in the garage - I will try this!
11/14/08 12:10 PM
glenj said...
in sewing mode,functional always wins over prettier
11/14/08 4:36 PM
Sarah J Doyle said...
Great idea - I have some pegboard also, and will get my husband to make one for me. Thanks.
11/16/08 10:00 PM
2muchfabric said...
Great Tip! Thanks for sharing your idea.
11/18/08 11:18 AM
newlywedws said...
What a fantastic idea to customise a spool rack!
11/23/08 11:55 PM
JennasMommy said...
What a wonderful idea! A great way to customize the rack to the size you need. Too bad I just ordered a 120 spool rack ;P. I'll have to try this once I fill up my current one. THANKS! ~~~~Mary
12/4/08 2:33 PM
junem1 said...
That is a great idea and more reasonable cost too. I used a shallow drawer (put corkboard in it), 3x4 ziplock baggies, pushpins and organize the spools and bobbins by color; it hangs on the wall; it works pretty good, too. I can find the color and bobbin easier.
12/5/08 3:18 PM
MENJ said...
Love the idea.
2/13/10 3:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.