SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Repairing a Nylon Coil Zipper

Viewed 6443 times
Posted by: patsijean
photo

 
 
About patsijean star
TN USA
Member since: 1/16/03
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/18/08 3:11 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I can't tell you the number of times I accidently trimmed a zipper only to realize I had cut off the zipper pull. I then had to rip the zipper completely out, and hopefully find a new zipper in the correct color, or go to the store and purchase another zipper (this costs time, gas, and money). Well, it is possible to repair those now pull-less zippers. I sacrificed a pretty green zipper to show you how. You will need clippers or small scissors, a hemostat if you have one, and a pair of pliers. Follow the link above to see all 13 photos of the step by step process.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
erdmute said...
This was really well explained and the pictures were excellent, thank you. I will try this technique for sure.
12/18/08 5:56 PM
SusanK said...
Thanks, Patricia! Nice explaination and pix! You mention in your bio that you've published an article in THREADS. What was the article? When was it published? I'd love to read it. Thanks! Susan
12/19/08 1:10 AM
petro said...
Thanks Patricia. I must try this, have generally given up on busted zips but this explanation is very clear.
12/19/08 1:36 AM
Vonnevo said...
Many thanks for making and sharing this excellent tutorial :)
12/19/08 6:21 AM
Patti B said...
How cool! We have all done this and I almost did it again this week. Very helpful tutorial that I'm sure I'll use.
12/19/08 9:38 AM
patsijean said...
SusanK. Thank you for your comment. The article was "Flatlining," a technique than results in a Hong Kong Finish. You will find it in THREADS Volume #42, Aug/Sept 1992, pages 58-59. The article in also included in THREADS book, Beyond The Pattern. Again, I was "gobstruck" that the editors were interested.
12/19/08 1:51 PM
Patzee said...
Very helpful. Nice tutorial...Thanks!
12/22/08 10:19 PM
kathyking said...
Very clear explanations and great photos! I'm tempted to mess up a zipper to try this technique!
1/27/09 6:06 PM
patsijean said...
Kathyking--It is good to practice on a spare zipper. And remember, you can always unzip if the lengths aren't correct and try again.
1/28/09 11:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.