SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Hardware Sewing Aids--Spring Clamps

Viewed 5208 times
Posted by: patsijean
photo

 
 
About patsijean star
TN USA
Member since: 1/16/03
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/21/08 11:15 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
We have had this 22 piece container of Spring Clamps for several years, but it was not until I had to rip our the hem of a slippery polyester lining fabric for my husbands reversible cape, that I thought to use one of the larger clamps for a "third hand" to help with the ripping process. I keep one of the clamps handy all the time now, and recently have expanded my use of the clamps. I do not remember the cost, but we found them in one of the impulse/small item bins at Home Depot. I am sure many hardware stores have something similar. These are handy gadgets with all sorts of uses. Click on the link above to see how I have been using the clamps.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Patzee said...
The link takes me to the front page of Picasa. Do I need to sign-in to view you album?
12/22/08 2:14 AM
regine said...
good idea, thanks
12/22/08 2:47 AM
fourkid said...
Very clever problem solving!
12/22/08 7:29 AM
patsijean said...
I have re-ented the link, and it is working for me. I have made the album public, so you should not need to sign in.
12/22/08 10:04 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a great idea! My DH has some of the large size of these, but I'll have to run to the store and get some smaller ones. Thanks!
12/22/08 11:48 AM
reneeb4930 said...
great great idea.
12/22/08 4:47 PM
Winifred said...
Great idea - will keep an eye out for these. Could be very useful, thanks.
12/22/08 5:44 PM
FyberSpace said...
I've been using the spring type clothespins.... they work wonderfully!
12/26/08 7:13 PM
Annette T. E. said...
Thanks for the useful idea! I will be looking for the clips too.
12/27/08 5:08 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Great idea when you are pinning a quilt and it's too small to fit on your pinning surface. Thank you!
12/28/08 9:07 AM
Marilyn N. said...
I have never thought to clip my fabric to my cutting board; I will try this!
1/4/09 0:14 AM
Susan M said...
I'm sold! That goes on my hardware store list.
1/5/09 9:52 PM
Jemparrot said...
What a great idea! I know I have some around here someplace.....
1/11/09 5:50 AM
carolrv said...
Is he a magician? Just kidding...I have used large binder clips (office supply store) to stretch a quilt back onto a table for layering and basting but had not thought of your uses. Good tip, thanks!
6/26/10 7:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.