SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Hardware Sewing Aids--Spring Clamps

Viewed 5228 times
Posted by: patsijean
photo

 
 
About patsijean star
TN USA
Member since: 1/16/03
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/21/08 11:15 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
We have had this 22 piece container of Spring Clamps for several years, but it was not until I had to rip our the hem of a slippery polyester lining fabric for my husbands reversible cape, that I thought to use one of the larger clamps for a "third hand" to help with the ripping process. I keep one of the clamps handy all the time now, and recently have expanded my use of the clamps. I do not remember the cost, but we found them in one of the impulse/small item bins at Home Depot. I am sure many hardware stores have something similar. These are handy gadgets with all sorts of uses. Click on the link above to see how I have been using the clamps.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Patzee said...
The link takes me to the front page of Picasa. Do I need to sign-in to view you album?
12/22/08 2:14 AM
regine said...
good idea, thanks
12/22/08 2:47 AM
fourkid said...
Very clever problem solving!
12/22/08 7:29 AM
patsijean said...
I have re-ented the link, and it is working for me. I have made the album public, so you should not need to sign in.
12/22/08 10:04 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a great idea! My DH has some of the large size of these, but I'll have to run to the store and get some smaller ones. Thanks!
12/22/08 11:48 AM
reneeb4930 said...
great great idea.
12/22/08 4:47 PM
Winifred said...
Great idea - will keep an eye out for these. Could be very useful, thanks.
12/22/08 5:44 PM
FyberSpace said...
I've been using the spring type clothespins.... they work wonderfully!
12/26/08 7:13 PM
Annette T. E. said...
Thanks for the useful idea! I will be looking for the clips too.
12/27/08 5:08 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Great idea when you are pinning a quilt and it's too small to fit on your pinning surface. Thank you!
12/28/08 9:07 AM
Marilyn N. said...
I have never thought to clip my fabric to my cutting board; I will try this!
1/4/09 0:14 AM
Susan M said...
I'm sold! That goes on my hardware store list.
1/5/09 9:52 PM
Jemparrot said...
What a great idea! I know I have some around here someplace.....
1/11/09 5:50 AM
carolrv said...
Is he a magician? Just kidding...I have used large binder clips (office supply store) to stretch a quilt back onto a table for layering and basting but had not thought of your uses. Good tip, thanks!
6/26/10 7:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.