SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Hardware Sewing Aids--Spring Clamps

Viewed 5307 times
Posted by: patsijean
photo

 
 
About patsijean star
TN USA
Member since: 1/16/03
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/21/08 11:15 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
We have had this 22 piece container of Spring Clamps for several years, but it was not until I had to rip our the hem of a slippery polyester lining fabric for my husbands reversible cape, that I thought to use one of the larger clamps for a "third hand" to help with the ripping process. I keep one of the clamps handy all the time now, and recently have expanded my use of the clamps. I do not remember the cost, but we found them in one of the impulse/small item bins at Home Depot. I am sure many hardware stores have something similar. These are handy gadgets with all sorts of uses. Click on the link above to see how I have been using the clamps.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
carolrv said...
Is he a magician? Just kidding...I have used large binder clips (office supply store) to stretch a quilt back onto a table for layering and basting but had not thought of your uses. Good tip, thanks!
6/26/10 7:21 AM
Jemparrot said...
What a great idea! I know I have some around here someplace.....
1/11/09 5:50 AM
Susan M said...
I'm sold! That goes on my hardware store list.
1/5/09 9:52 PM
Marilyn N. said...
I have never thought to clip my fabric to my cutting board; I will try this!
1/4/09 0:14 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Great idea when you are pinning a quilt and it's too small to fit on your pinning surface. Thank you!
12/28/08 9:07 AM
Annette T. E. said...
Thanks for the useful idea! I will be looking for the clips too.
12/27/08 5:08 PM
FyberSpace said...
I've been using the spring type clothespins.... they work wonderfully!
12/26/08 7:13 PM
Winifred said...
Great idea - will keep an eye out for these. Could be very useful, thanks.
12/22/08 5:44 PM
reneeb4930 said...
great great idea.
12/22/08 4:47 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a great idea! My DH has some of the large size of these, but I'll have to run to the store and get some smaller ones. Thanks!
12/22/08 11:48 AM
patsijean said...
I have re-ented the link, and it is working for me. I have made the album public, so you should not need to sign in.
12/22/08 10:04 AM
fourkid said...
Very clever problem solving!
12/22/08 7:29 AM
regine said...
good idea, thanks
12/22/08 2:47 AM
Patzee said...
The link takes me to the front page of Picasa. Do I need to sign-in to view you album?
12/22/08 2:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.