SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Expo Reviews > Original Sewing and Quilt Expo - Worcester MA

Massachusetts, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5515 times
Posted by: LLS
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LLS
MA USA
Member since: 1/21/04
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced
expos reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/21/09 10:13 PM
Rating: thumbsdown
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This note is to warn others about the "customer service" provided by the expo organizers. Be careful. I have attended this Expo for years and signed up again this year for classes. I signed up on line and so could not see the day by day schedule that came by mail weeks later. I made a mistake and signed up for a class on a day that I cannot attend. I called SEVEN weeks in advance to explain the error and ask if I can swap for another class of equal value. I did not ask for a refund. They took more than a week to get back to me and then said no. Because they find the paper work too confusing and difficult they would not make a swap. But they have my money -- no problem taking that and using it for months ahead of the classes. And the spot in the class that I have cannot be used by someone else. IMHO no business should treat loyal customers like this. Please be careful.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Sewing Expo Review    Read All Sewing Expo Reviews


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
kellymailinglist said...
I'm sorry you were treated like that, but thank you for letting us know of a potential problem.
3/22/09 10:27 AM
Brine said...
Sounds really strange! In the past I have found the people who do the registration by phone very accommodating. I think I would assume that someone new was unfamiliar with the system and couldn't figure out how to make the change. If it is not too late, I'd try again.
3/22/09 11:34 AM
LLS said...
Thanks, I did try again and got to the person who heads the Expo -- was very polite each time, but clear about my request. They insist the "paperwork" is too complex. And so they will lose me as a long term customer. Odd choice on their part in this economy especially.
3/25/09 10:26 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
I attend nearly every year -- While I do find their policy of no refunds not to my liking, it does seem to be rather foolish not to arrange an exchange. While I have made an exchange ON-SITE PRIOR to class in years past, I do not know whether that is permitted in the scheme of things at the present time. Does seem sad to waste a spot in a class, especially if it is one for a limited number of registrants with a waiting list. I can see their point on the paperwork... a printed ticket is 'out in circulation' and the need for it's return prior to issuing the replacement exchange ticket. Thats a lot of mail / correspondence to track. I would defend the organizers only to the extend their policy is included in the booklets and also was reiterated verbally when I registered over the phone. I'm not so sure I would let my own error prevent me from attending in the future and doing something I truly enjoy. Hope you passed your admissions and class tickets on to a friend to enjoy....always good to encourage a newbie sewer or someone returning to the craft after a long hiatus. So sorry for your disappointment.
3/28/09 6:56 AM
dbsewer said...
I haven't heard of this policy but thanks for letting us know. I'd rather show up and try to get into a class on-site than toss my money away. I think, though, they misled you in saying the spot in the class can't be used by someone else. If you already have the ticket, there's no way they can stop someone else from using it. So give your ticket to a friend who's attending. I doubt they'll be turned away at the door.
3/30/09 9:41 AM
Mufffet said...
That is really bad. I am sorry to hear that. Last year at the Vermont Quilt Festival only class participants could win the door prizes!! I mean really!! You pay ten dollars to get in?!??! I had forgotten that! WAIT - "the paperwork is too complex?!" They are the ones who made the paperwork. That is so stupid.
4/9/09 10:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.