SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Ace Bandages to the rescue

Viewed 5476 times
Posted by: Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizer starstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
tips added: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/7/09 11:31 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 22 people   
I've had several projects lately that needed serious first aid and I found it at Walgreen's: the humble Ace Bandage or its store brand counterpart. I've used the 2" and 3" ones to add more oooomph to flabby ribbing on the hem of a polo shirt, add weightless layer of elastic to the tummy band on a pair of yoga pants, and fix the saggy, too-large gathered collar on a knit shirt. It's easy to sew through, and is very subtle - a kinder, gentler version of elastic. It probably won't last as long as regular elastic, and a reasonable, careful person would make an attempt to keep these things out of the dryer. I am not that person, and I figure that the worst thing that could happen is that over time, the elastic begins to wilt and I'm left with the a garment with the original problem. But in the mean time, I've got comfortable, invisible elasticity where I need it.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Adaire said...
Due to my late husband's illness, he had to have his legs wrapped all the time withAce bandages and I washed them and dryer-dried them repeatedly. They were just fine. I think it says to air-dry them, but I assure you it isn't necessary if you use low heat. They will still stay stretchy after numerous washings.
7/6/13 9:05 AM
Kaileesmommy said...
Great tip! Jo-ann's must be catching in because I just saw 3" elastic there-sold by the yard. Awesome!
9/20/10 9:24 PM
Nancywin said...
Great idea! I've been wondering "where in the world can I find 2" wide elastic?" Ahhh... now I know!
5/4/09 10:33 PM
glenj said...
clever tip.
4/9/09 6:13 PM
MarilynB said...
Karla, you're a genius.
4/9/09 7:55 AM
pjrsews said...
Oh, this is so timely!! My local options for anything resembling elastic is Walmart, which doesn't have the type of elastic I needed for a waist on "yoga pants" type shorts. This is such a great solution. Thanks for sharing it!!!!!!
4/8/09 4:12 PM
Georgene said...
Seriously great idea. I mean that as sincerely as I can possible be. It's a whole new world of promise out there. Dayum!
4/8/09 9:21 AM
snapdragonfly said...
thanks Karla, i felt a bit naughty when i put a box of these in my sewing room recently with that 'may come in handy for something' cavalier attitude, i had bought them in error thinking they were tube support bandages, but now i can relax and trust my instincts, they will definitely come in handy for something! thanks again for sharing.
4/8/09 9:14 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Thanks for this cool tip Karla!
4/8/09 7:31 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Petro, Ace bandages are elasticized strips that are usually used for injuries like sprained ankles http://tinyurl.com/c72edp Kirsten, I put the bandage inside the ribbing and waistband before it was sewn to the garment; I attached one edge to the fold of the ribbing and waistband by stitching it to what is the inside of the band, then included the other edge in the seam that attached the band to the pants or top. The one I used on the saggy collar is just floating free inside the collar, tacked at the shoulder seams, because it was a "retro-fit".
4/8/09 6:53 AM
petro said...
sounds interesting, is Ace bandage that kind of crepe bandage used for sprains etc, or is it more elasticated?
4/8/09 5:55 AM
Kirstenw said...
Such a good hint. Please give a bit more info, so you just sew it in under the collars or waistband where it cannot be seen?
4/8/09 1:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now
WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.