SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > matching jean thread for hems

Viewed 5262 times
Posted by: costumecarol
photo

 
 
About costumecarol star
ME USA
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/13/09 5:31 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
I've done alterations for some time, but few places I've worked had a wide range of of colors in heavy jeans threads.

I found a way to cheat a little. I wind a bobbin with a double thickness of thread, winding from two spools at once. When stitched, it looks like heavy-duty thread. I have even used two colors together to blend a color I don't have.

I use regular thread in the needle, which ends up on the inside of the hem.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Patzee said...
Never thought to use two threads from the bobbin. Thanks!
7/14/09 0:42 AM
Charrlie said...
great tip
7/14/09 1:12 AM
Maripat said...
I've used double thread on the top, but never the bottom. Thanks for the idea!
7/14/09 7:10 AM
Levone said...
Thanks for this tip! I have 8 pair of jeans that I have lined up to him...I've been putting it off for months now, so this definitely will come in handy for me.
7/14/09 9:52 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Nice tip - it is always hard to find topstitching thread in the "right" color.
7/14/09 8:59 PM
MaddyGranMa said...
Anyone who has tried to shorten a pair of jeans will appreciate this tip!
7/17/09 2:54 PM
nancy2001 said...
I've used this technique for topstitching on tailored jackets too.
7/20/09 5:56 AM
sewrelaxed said...
Your blending technique sounds like it could be great creative fun (for lots of things)!
7/21/09 1:25 AM
Kirra27 said...
Or if your machine allows it, you can put two spools of cotton on the machine and thread both down through the needle (might need a bigger needle which would suit jeans anyway). I then stitch the hem with right side up, which seems to give a better finish for some reason.
7/24/09 2:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.