SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Runaway foot pedal

Viewed 5315 times
Posted by: SewRaeMe
photo

 
 
About SewRaeMe
Member since: 3/20/08
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/17/09 9:44 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
I recently read in an issue of Threads magazine (I believe that is where I saw it) about stopping your sewing machine pedal from running away.

I have a carpeted sewing area and still my pedal would run to the wall. I attached some of the "hook" side of velcro to the bottom. This holds it in place and prevents it from slipping while not "glueing it" to the carpet.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
quathy said...
My dealer also recommends using that grippy mesh that you put under carpets to keep them from slipping on hardwood floors. Sorry I don't know what that stuff is called... but it works marvelously for foot pedals, and also for runaway sergers!
9/17/09 10:43 AM
Darlene2001 said...
Really great idea, thanks.
9/17/09 1:09 PM
monijo said...
I've tried the mesh, but it didn't work for me. However, I will try using the loop side of Velcro. I hope that I get better results. Thanks.
9/17/09 6:11 PM
calminatrix said...
i sure hope this works! i struggle with this all day, every day! looking down, looking up, looking down, looking up...
9/18/09 3:40 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Double-sided tape keeps pedals stuck to hardware floors as well. If you just put a little strip, it's still easy to pull it off and move the pedal around if necessary.
9/18/09 4:18 AM
snapdragonfly said...
Thanks, I have also tried the grippy non slippy stuff for my machine AND my footpedal but it has not worked for me so I will try the velcro hook idea and let you know.
9/18/09 8:49 AM
skysthelimit said...
I use old mousepads, works like a charm!
5/4/10 9:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.