SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Prevent Lapel Scoop-out

Viewed 5483 times
Posted by: nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About nancy2001 starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
tips added: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/26/09 4:36 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Perfectly sewn lapels add a professional touch to your tailored jackets. Unfortunately notched lapels, and peaked lapels, are the hardest type of collar treatment to sew correctly. When the lapels aren't sewn properly, the upper edge of the lower lapel will appear scooped out. This unattractive, concave shape resembles a lobster's claw, as seen in this photo.

http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj46/nancynancy2001/P5051268-1.jpg

To get a perfect lapel such as the one below

http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj46/nancynancy2001/P9171578.jpg

Jackets for Real People recommends that you compensate by sewing the top edge of the lapel's seam in an convex arc just above the lapel's straight seamline.


But I think it's easier to adjust the lapel's upper seamline directly on the pattern, as the photo posted below shows.

http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj46/nancynancy2001/P9261600.jpg

Note that I have marked the original straight seamline with a Sharpie. The convex area I added lies above the black line.


It's better to build in slightly more of an arc than you need, since you can easily trim it down.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Liz29 said...
Thank U for Ur time and effort explaining .....Very informative
9/22/12 4:24 PM
Liz29 said...
Thank U for Ur time and effort explaining .....Very informative
9/22/12 3:55 PM
CynthiaSue said...
wow amazing and helpful tip.
7/23/10 0:06 AM
nancy2001 said...
I just tested the links to the photos, and they still work.
7/13/10 1:30 PM
sewsally said...
I am having trouble viewing the photos. I can't seem to copy and paste the links.
9/27/09 7:37 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
Thank you for sharing your experience.
9/27/09 9:38 AM
nancy2001 said...
I'm glad you found this tip helpful. Petro. I believe you're right -- the amount of the arch would depend on the thickness of the fabric. And Monjo, muslins are the key to success in jacket making.
9/27/09 6:19 AM
petro said...
Thanks for this Nancy. I guess the amount you swerve your stitching line out would depend on the fabric - more for thicker fabric?
9/27/09 2:36 AM
ryansmumAria said...
ok Nancy, you are spoiling us with all this great info. You aren't allowed to stop now...
9/26/09 8:44 PM
sewglenda said...
Thank You. Gteat idea.
9/26/09 7:56 PM
monijo said...
Again, thank you for another informative tailoring comment. As is said, "a stitch in time, saves nine". It's better to draw that line on the pattern rather than using a "just go for it" approach. Above all, first sew a muslin that can be cried over and easily forgotten.
9/26/09 7:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

More Info
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.