SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Blue painters tape

Viewed 5489 times
Posted by: SewRaeMe
photo

 
 
About SewRaeMe
Member since: 3/20/08
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/7/10 9:53 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I recently read about blue painters tape in an issue of Threads magazine.

I can't remember even what the article said but I bought some and used it to tape my fabric to my rotary mat cutting board. This worked great at holding my fabric stable so it doesn't slip around.
As I cut past or over the tape, I would peel it off and place it over the actual cut out shape. It also works great for marking a straight line on your fabric.

The tape will not leave any sticky residue on "almost" all fabrics although I would test it on the edge first. I was using it on heavy fleece and not only did it hold it didn't tear up the fleece when I took it off.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Elaine Dougan said...
Thank you for the tip.
1/7/10 10:33 AM
Mimicj said...
Thanks for this tip. I use the blue painters tape when I am tracing a pattern using STP but never thought about holding the fashion fabric in place to use the rotary cutter.
1/7/10 6:28 PM
fourkid said...
Great tip, thanks.
1/8/10 7:58 AM
FL Girl said...
Great tip! I've been using painters tape as a seam guide. It's easy to move and remove and doesn't leave any sticky residue on my machine.
1/8/10 12:25 PM
abbe said...
From experience, I know it must come off woodwork fairly soon after painting is completed. Otherwise, it's a pain to remove. Probably not a problem w/ fabric, but for cutting areas/measures, remove asap.
1/8/10 1:15 PM
Quilsha said...
What is this tape, can you get it in England?
2/2/10 9:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.