SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Stabilizing Swimwear fabric.

Viewed 5460 times
Posted by: Teeavilnor
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Teeavilnor star
CT USA
Member since: 10/12/07
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/27/10 1:19 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
I have heard of stabilizing small areas of fabric like buttonholes.But not for swimwear fabric. Mostly I find the printed lycra tends to roll on the edges. I did read a tip to zig-zag the edges this will help. But I tired it and it really wasn't much better. So yesterday I was working on another swimsuit with rolly printed fabric and thought I will stabilize the crotch area because it always seems to be the worse there. It worked ! Then I started pinning the rest and it was rolling I said OK I took out the pins and stabilized the entire suits edges. And tomorrow I will have a easy day of sewing. Only drawback is you have to let it dry overnight. But I'm in no hurry. I use OESD Helmar Sew Stable Fabric Stabilizer bucause of a tip I read here on PR.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Merry G said...
how did you stablize it? did I miss something?
2/28/10 9:26 AM
candyo said...
I don't get it either.
2/28/10 9:53 AM
Mimicj said...
Helmar Sew Stable will stabilize fabric before machine embroidery. By stabilizing the fabric with Helmar Sew Stable you will eliminate the need for a hoop and stiffen the fabric so that it dos not bunch up while you are embroidering. This product is a liquid, not aerosol spray.
2/28/10 1:19 PM
Teeavilnor said...
I stablized all the edges, brushed it on waited to dry and it was much easier to control the fabric.
2/28/10 3:20 PM
SandiMacD said...
Thanks for explaining how you used the product in your comment because I couldn' understand it just from the review. I'm going to buy some and give it a try.
3/4/10 0:15 AM
sewrelaxed said...
Does this product wash out after or leave a residue?
3/5/10 8:49 PM
sewrelaxed said...
Does this product wash out after or leave a residue?
3/5/10 8:49 PM
Teeavilnor said...
sewrelaxed: Yes, with the swimwear I just rince it out there is no residue. I use 3pts. water to 1pt stabilizer but it can be made stronger or full strength, or I imagine lesser depending what you need.
3/6/10 12:15 PM
Beryl Koster said...
Great idea! My fabric rolled worse after I washed it...not too sure if that is such a good thing to do.
3/17/12 1:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.