SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Pattern weights: using chains

Viewed 5276 times
Posted by: Mariyka
photo

 
 
About Mariyka
OH
Member since: 8/10/10
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/27/10 4:28 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 22 people   
When I asked my husband for some heavy washers to use as weights for pattern cutting, he offered some heavy galvanized chain pieces he had leftover from hanging a swing. They work great! You can stretch them out to follow the contours of the pattern and they're easy to store-- just hang them over a hook.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewFar said...
What a great tip - so very clever! Thank you for posting.
10/27/10 4:31 PM
Sana said...
That's a great idea. You have a clever husband.
10/27/10 6:47 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great tip.
10/27/10 7:37 PM
arianamaniacs said...
good idea. i wish i had some chains now
10/28/10 3:00 AM
carolbee said...
GREAT IDE!
10/28/10 3:48 AM
abcameo said...
hmmm--sounds like this might work even better than my standby--tuna cans.
10/28/10 9:27 AM
LynnG said...
Never thought of this, but its an excellent idea. I'll have to browse my husbands parts bins.
10/28/10 10:22 AM
Laurie Lou said...
What a "simply" wonderful idea. even better than washers. I finally have a reason to go to the home depot next time!
10/28/10 11:59 AM
Lizz said...
Eureka! I LOVE this!
10/28/10 12:37 PM
abbe said...
The commercial weights are $$$$ (IMHO) and there are only 4 in package. The chain idea is so great! Thanks
10/29/10 3:23 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Wonderful idea! Thanks so much!!!
11/1/10 3:34 PM
SeamsYouSew said...
Love this idea--could probably find chromed/rust proof versions to avoid corrosion concerns. Thank You.
3/26/12 3:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.