SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > pinning/cutting difficult fabric

Viewed 5409 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/19/10 10:58 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Using long dritz pins that are about 2 inches and weaving them in and out the pattern piece and fabric edge works when trying to cut out difficult fabric, like knits, that likes to dance instead of just sit there.

Use a lot of pins so that almost all the edges are pinned down.

Yes, it's alot of work but gosh it's so much easier to cut.
Why has this taken me decades to figure out! I work knits almost exclusively and still am learning how to manage it.

Sewing knits is not for the weak!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Maripat said...
Thanks, Aria. I also use serrated scissors to work on difficult fabric.
11/20/10 8:20 AM
JoaniesJosh said...
Your tips are the best. Any tips about the best way to sew kits, especially drapey knits?
11/20/10 9:25 AM
JoaniesJosh said...
Your tips are the best. Any tips about the best way to sew kits, especially drapey knits?
11/20/10 9:25 AM
vasallese said...
This is part of the reason I do not sew on difficult fabrics. I use a rotary cutter when I cut out patterns. What has been your experience with that?
11/20/10 4:00 PM
ryansmumAria said...
vasallese, I prefer a rotary cutter but sometimes I don't have a sharp blade and I resort to the serrated scissors like Maripatt and find them to be indispensable. I highly recommend the large Kai serrated scissors and are worth every penny. Thank you Joanie for your generous comment! I now refuse to work with impossible fabrics like super drapey knits. I find they don't even sew up nicely after I have struggled so much. If you absolutely must work with them, I would suggest saturating them in starch and then pressing them so they aren't so drapey. I would also use tissue paper under the fabric, then pin through it when cutting. I would use tissue paper on the seams so you don't get the bunching or I would interface all the seams with fusible interfacing strips about a wide 1/2 inch. It is alot of work so I try to stick to stable knits so I don't lose my mind or hurt someone...
11/20/10 8:19 PM
ohsewnutty said...
Wow did I need this hint. I have been working on lots of knits for my grandkids and I have been frustrated to the point of dreading the cutting out. Thanks
11/20/10 10:10 PM
kws said...
Thanks, I like almost all of your hints.
11/22/10 7:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern

SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.