SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > cutting out lining and fabric together

Viewed 5451 times
Posted by: Laurie Lou
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Laurie Lou star
MN USA
Member since: 10/16/05
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/4/11 1:45 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
I can't be the first person to think of this but here goes. Instead of layering the 2 fabrics on top of each other I sandwiched the lining inside the folded fashion fabric. I made sure my lining was pressed with no wrinkles and made sure the folds were up against each other, then I proceeded to pin and cut out. It worked like a charm and marking was equally efficient, easy and fast.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
woole bully said...
i LOVE this idea. cannot wait to try it. thanks.
1/5/11 7:41 AM
SandiMacD said...
I haven't considered that. What a great idea. Sometimes my shears don't cut through my fusible that I need on pockets, bodice, etc. I'm going to try this and see if the fabric sandwich let's the scissors cut through better. Thanks!
1/5/11 9:20 AM
quathy said...
I hadn't thought doing of this - thanks for the tip!
1/5/11 11:34 AM
brittney101 said...
wow, this is going to help out alot,can't wait to try it on my next project
1/6/11 2:53 PM
JENN10 said...
This is a wonderful suggestion. I hate cutting out linings separately.. I will be using this tip from here on!!!!! Thank you!!!!
1/7/11 1:39 PM
amingo said...
how was allowance made for shrinkage of lining/
1/10/11 3:33 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Amingo...Launder the lining first. :)
1/10/11 10:04 AM
wildberrymom said...
Great idea--looking forward to trying it.
1/11/11 3:09 AM
PSmith26 said...
Thanks for the tip. I have a few jackets that have lining I will try this next time. Thanks again
1/14/11 12:38 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
Great idea! Since the lining needs to be a bit smaller than the outside anyway, the folded pieces will be spot-on. And quite a time-saver if you're not doing a placement that eats up fabric like matching plaids or patterns at the seams.
1/15/11 1:55 PM
DesignsByDenise said...

1/15/11 1:56 PM
regine said...
There will be a problem when making a jacket, the lining of the back needs a fold so it is not the same as the jacket back. Similarly the front of a jacket lining is very different.
1/15/11 4:26 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Regine good point, I made a skirt and pants. One would have to consider this but at least the sleeves and some jackets...depending on the design. Thanks for pointing this out though. Something to consider.
1/17/11 10:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.