SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > Sure-Fit Designs

Oregon, UNITED STATES
Viewed 6405 times
Posted by: Sandy G.
photo

 
 
About Sandy G. star
OR USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
classes reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/16/11 5:39 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 49 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I attended a two day class presented by Glenda Sparling of Sure Fit Designs and I couldn't be more pleased with the results. There were six of us in the class so it was small enough that we all had individual attention as needed. Glenda demonstrated the Sure-Fit Designs Dress Kit and how we could draft a personalized basic pattern with only twelve measurements. The kit consists of a master pattern with bust sizes 28 up to 62 inches, waist 20 to 54 inches and hip 28- 62 inches. There is a bodice front and back with bust and waist darts and a skirt front and back with waist darts. There are also two sleeves, one for wovens and one for stretchy fabrics and the long sleeve has an elbow dart. You can also draft a short sleeve. You can draft from an A to an E cup so it covers most bust circumferences and bra cup sizes.

Glenda started with a talk on how to draft the pattern. After taking your measurements you overlay a sheet of vellum paper over the master pattern and mark a dot at the point on the master pattern that corresponds to your twelve measurements and then connect the dots. You do the same to add the darts and then trace them in with a template that is provided in the Dress Kit and then add 5/8 seam allowances. It is that simple!

Glenda had us divide up into groups of two and we took each other's measurements and she came around and checked them all for accuracy.

Then we went to our tables and drew up our patterns. She was available to help each one of us individually as we had questions and checked our drafting before we cut out our muslin.

A couple of times she had us come back to the front of the class for talks on how much ease was built into the master pattern and how to use the Designing Stylus that comes with the kit (similar to a French curve) to get the correct neckline and armhole curves and showed us some of the clothes that she had drafted for herself.

Most of us finished the day at the point we were ready to start sewing so we went home and made up our muslins.

The next morning Glenda checked the fit for each of us. There were two people who had minor changes but were able to correct those to come up with a perfect fit for all six of us.

Then Glenda gave a talk on how to take the basic block that we had drawn up and use it to make design changes and draft patterns. She passed out some of the big three patterns and asked us to tell her how they changed a basic sloper to come up with the design lines on the pattern. It was fun to try and figure out how they moved the bust dart and put shoulder pleats instead or how the dart was gone and there was a princess seam in its place. She also showed us how to take a commercial pattern and overlay it on our master pattern and trace off a pattern that would fit us from the commercial pattern. This enables you to have a pattern drafted to fit you perfectly and you can still use some of the design elements from the commercial pattern, such as a collar or pocket or a sash across the front of a dress etc.

I cannot tell you how much money I have spent over the last 30 years trying to get a good fit. I have two different pattern drafting software packages, several fitting books, videos and have been to at least 5 fitting seminars and while I have derived something from most of them I have never had anything I have been as pleased with as the fit I got from the Sure-Fit Designs Dress pattern. I have always had to make two or three or even more muslins and this one fit me perfectly on the first try with absolutely no tweaking. It felt so comfortable the moment I put it on. I have never been so excited to go home and sew for myself!

The dress kit can be used to make one and two-piece dresses, blouses, skirts, jackets and coats that are darted or that need dart manipulation for design features. Sure-Fit Designs also provides a Shirt Kit that can be used to make shirts or blouses, dresses and Jackets that don't have darts and are looser fitting. The Shirt Kit can be used for both men and women. There is a Pants Kit for women and another one for men and also a Children's Kit.

The kits also come with booklets with clear step by step instructions and illustrations and there are Fashion Design sheets to help you design things like raglan sleeves, tulip sleeves, jacket lapels, peplums, swim suits etc.

She also has a How-To DVD available that is like having her right there with you in your sewing room.

I highly recommend Sure-Fit Designs!
www.surefitdesigns.com

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


23 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
mhk3boys said...
I wish I lived closer to go to one of these classes! I have the pants kit and dress kit and so far with the pants I'm happy with the fit! I'm glad you are having such great results because I know what a pain it is to alter and what a pain it is to have sewn something and it not fit.
1/16/11 8:56 PM
Sandy G. said...
I looked at your christmas print pants and thought the fit was excellent. Have you made up a pair out of regular fabric yet? If you have I would love to see the pictures. I can't wait to try the pants kit!
1/16/11 10:18 PM
SandiMacD said...
Can you put in a link to her site? Or is it a building? Where in OR is she? You have given me hope for a good fit. Thanks.
1/17/11 9:01 AM
Ciclista said...
This looks really compelling. I'm hoping there's enough information to help take the slopers and apply them to current patterns. A lot of the web site looks pretty dated to the 80s. Too bad her classes are broken out over successive weeks versus 3-4 days back to back. I think a lot more sewers would travel to take advantage of her class(s). It looks pretty straight forward so hopefully the DVD with the custom curve(s) be enough.
1/17/11 11:11 AM
Sandy G. said...
Sandi, I put the link at the bottom of my review. I believe she has classrooms on site and she lives in Eugene, Oregon
1/17/11 1:20 PM
MizLiz said...
Great review ! Glenda has updated her web site. Just go to SureFit or Glenda Sparling. I hope you update when you try another pattern.
1/23/11 9:36 PM
Sandy G. said...
I am so anxious to make something up but right now I am in the middle of a sewing room reorganization. As soon as I get everything put back in place I want to make up some blouses and I will post more reviews.
1/24/11 2:33 PM
Minnasews said...
Very thorough and good review. I just got Glenda's kit and started the pants...they were too big but I think I shouldn't have used a knit. I had another minor problem not getting something with the kit - I sent her an e-mail and she answered immediately. She seems to really follow up and want to be able to communicate with people who buy her product. However, if I see a class somewhere, I'm going to be tempted to go to it. Although my shorts were big, they were the right ratios! I have a long back crotch and a short front crotch measurement and I've never been able to get this predictably right! I did with this pattern!!! I'm very excited to try the other parts of the kit. It's like drafting a pattern without all the other steps one needs to know - although I'd like to take it a step further, like you did, and take a class!! Great idea, Glenda and I like the vellum! It's sturdy but can be seen through! This was a worthwhile investment!
3/28/11 3:26 PM
Minnasews said...
Very thorough and good review. I just got Glenda's kit and started the pants...they were too big but I think I shouldn't have used a knit. I had another minor problem not getting something with the kit - I sent her an e-mail and she answered immediately. She seems to really follow up and want to be able to communicate with people who buy her product. However, if I see a class somewhere, I'm going to be tempted to go to it. Although my shorts were big, they were the right ratios! I have a long back crotch and a short front crotch measurement and I've never been able to get this predictably right! I did with this pattern!!! I'm very excited to try the other parts of the kit. It's like drafting a pattern without all the other steps one needs to know - although I'd like to take it a step further, like you did, and take a class!! Great idea, Glenda and I like the vellum! It's sturdy but can be seen through! This was a worthwhile investment!
3/28/11 3:26 PM
Love to sew and quilt said...
I have been considering the SureFit system since attending the PR Live Chat with Glenda Sparling. Your review has answered any residual questions I have. Thank you for posting your review for all of us on the fence. SureFit also has a website that explains the system quite well, but to hear it from a fellow PR member really helps. Watching the mini-videos on the website helps, too.
4/4/11 9:19 PM
Sandy G. said...
Thank you for your comments! I think you will be really pleased with the fit if you buy any of the surefit products. I have a blouse drafted that I plan on reviewing and hopefully I can get some time to work on it soon.
4/5/11 4:34 PM
jane schmitt said...
This was a great review. I am planing on purchasing a kit in a couple of weeks. I wish Glenda was doing a class in Florida.
4/12/11 10:17 AM
bananaoil said...
I hope you will post reviews of the garments you make using the system. Thanks for the review.
5/6/11 12:15 PM
Sandy G. said...
I am so slow, I am cutting out a blouse right now. Will try to get it finished and posted soon.
5/7/11 7:36 PM
creations by alice said...
if i had not bought My label I would really be tempted to order this one
5/31/11 6:37 PM
Christie Gail said...
I could not have said it better myself.
7/13/11 8:33 AM
ClaudineCecile said...
Just received my 3 Kits Combo; can't wait to try it! Claudine
10/6/11 2:27 PM
Cultured Purl said...
I am working on the pants kit, but will most definately purchase the dress, shirt and even the mens pants kit as time goes on, I am very IMPRESSED w/ the basic fitting DVD( over 2 hrs?) and the new updated one, TO be clear, a basic sloper does NOT change w/ styles.. patterns do, so while an updated 'look"may sell better now the information and fitting is STILL THE SAME on the basic DVD, and IT WORKS! I know she mentioned that she was working on updating the various kits ( as I understood it) the women's pant one provides me w/ EVERYTHING I will need and perhaps I will never again have to purchase a pant pattern ( yes, its just that easy to do!) I cannot speak for the dresses( includes skirts, more fitted blouses, and of course dresses!) but will after I get the rest of the system! I still want to use some of my pretty dress or blouse patterns and fully intend on either using design details to design on my own OR laying my sloper over an existing pattern so I DO NOT HAVE TO ALTER all the time! I WISH I had done this years ago, and one more thing here,,,,I knit and use resourcses from a woman who wrote books in the '70s, many may say this is dated , well ease and styles come and go but her methods( and body calculations),,,are being used today because they still work!,, I honestly wish I had used this system years ago and saved myself a lot of frustration and expensive fabric ,,maybe SURE FIT would consider a 2- 3 day workshop like so many others do? IT would be worth it! Good sewing to all,,,,
5/7/12 6:19 AM
Cultured Purl said...
Thank you for the class review, I have just purchased the system myself and am hoping I can get the dress kit fit as well as others have, this goes a LONG way to saving me a lot of sewing frustration! Have you been using your system a lot??
5/15/12 11:03 AM
Klutzy said...
Did you ever post any finished garments? I don't know how to search without a pattern number.
6/5/12 9:53 AM
KathleenNW said...
I just bought the dress kit . Maybe we should have a sew-along. I know Glenda reads these reviews, maybe she'd lead the sew-along for us.
7/11/12 10:52 PM
caje1une said...
I bought the dress kit due to this review and have been able to draught an accurate skirt pattern for my daughter that fits her size 6 (UK) frame. At last! I have since made a few variations of the skirt and am confident enough to try a dress pattern for her, even though she has relatively broad shoulders. Money well spent!
8/6/12 8:09 AM
shelleyjr said...
This review sold me on getting the Dress Kit. I saw a video of Glenda telling how to make a princess seam from your blue print. I would love to be able to do that. Thank you for such a great review!
2/24/14 7:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Buy Now
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.