SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > keeping dust off cone threads

Viewed 5399 times
Posted by: mssewcrazy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mssewcrazy star
MS USA
Member since: 3/4/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/6/11 11:33 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
As our remodel continues I am removing old factory serger cones from a wall rack and cleaning and dusting them. I decided before they are returned to their spools to take some fold and close storage bags (very cheap in large boxes) and cover each one. I found that if you fold the top flap over like you were enclosing a sandwich to wrap there was still room for the peg to go in the cone and the bags seemed to stay put better. They are soft like the ones that were on them originally. I have lots of maxilok cones in art bin boxes but felt there were too many of these oversized cones to justify purchasing boxes so back on the racks they go but protected. I wish I had thought of this long ago. Hope this is helpful to someone else.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Taylor Jane said...
That's a great idea. Thanks!
5/27/11 6:53 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Muffet I have learned this the hard way but the older serger thread has been out since the 1980s. I love being able to see it but after the past couple of years of not sewing and a husband grinding up floor adhesives in the house to lay tile my wall thread is disgusting. I will put a plastic drape over a wall rack of embroidery thread that I just put up before it meets a similar fate. Elsa D I am using a dust brush on my vacuum as I sit in a chair and hopefully with the sandwich bags I won't be doing this again. I did find I had better luck with the bags on the largest cones to use the scissors to open the flaps. So far the little bags are working out really well. I am glad some of you find the cheapie dust covers helpful. I have been a thread piggie through the years and am always trying out different ways of storing the different kinds.
4/8/11 7:26 AM
NonieA1 said...
Thank you for sharing.
4/7/11 4:13 PM
ElsaD said...
I was given thread that had been left on racks. I took the vacuum to them!
4/7/11 10:45 AM
ElsaD said...
I was given thread that had been left on racks. I took the vacuum to them!
4/7/11 10:13 AM
Mufffet said...
I have a cute little Gutermann thread stand and I covered it right away by taking a large plastic bag (over 11" long), and slitting the side of the bag and sliding it over the whole thing. I would NEVER leave thread out in the air on a rack. All the rest of my thread is in ArtBin boxes.
4/7/11 9:55 AM
Gingersnap1932 said...
great idea, at a recent class we were told to watch the lint of any threads that enter in "lok" very hard on the serger, clean frequently and well.
4/7/11 1:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

More Info
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.