SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > fabric stash notebook

Viewed 5404 times
Posted by: adelaide original
photo

 
 
About adelaide original
UT USA
Member since: 10/2/09
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/8/11 8:47 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
I have created a fabric stash notebook for all the fabric in my stash. I cut a swatch from each piece of fabric. I glue it to a page in a spiral notebook. I write under it how much of the fabric I have and how wide it is. I also make notes about the fabric. I write things like fabric content, If this piece has be preshrunk and had the grain straightened, if it is a one way print or has two way stretch and the washing instructions. I make sure I do this before I put the fabric away even if I think I am going to use it right away because some times that does not happen. I keep this note book near my sewing machine. The other thing I do is I store each fabric piece in a plastic grocery store bag that is loosely tied shut so that I can see it easily. I write on the outside of the bag how much fabric there is and how wide it is and I write things like preshrunk or straight of grain on the bag. I use a permanent marks a lot type marker to do this because it writes well on plastic. I take my notebook with me when I want to Match thread, zippers, seam tape etc. to the fabric. I take advantage of thread and notion sales at fabric stores by taking my notebook with me and using it to make sure I have thread to match each piece of fabric I own. If I don't have thread to match the fabric I can't sew with it so I make sure that does not happen. I also use my notebook to decide about patterns I might be thinking about making. It has helped me greatly with making decisions about what projects to work on.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Gildarose said...
Thank you for sharing this ,very helpful!
5/8/11 9:51 PM
Charrlie said...
I really need to organize mine, sounds great and not very time consuming.
5/9/11 0:10 AM
rtrittel said...
great organizing tip - thanks!
5/9/11 0:48 AM
julstech said...
You can download a stash notebook template at the website for STITCH magazine. That is where I got the idea to make up my notebook.
5/9/11 7:35 AM
anika said...
I like the spiral notebook idea a lot. Very easy and transportable.
5/9/11 8:53 AM
LynnG said...
Do you have a link to the website. I've tried searching for the template and can't find it. Sounds like a great idea that I would like to give a try.
5/9/11 9:16 AM
Brine said...
Great idea about including all that relevant information for each swatch! I once did similar notebook (with much less information) with swatches from my wool fabric stash. I was surprised to find when I looked at it after several years that many of the swatches had mysteriously disappeared! I don't know if moths had gotten them or what had happened, but hereafter I will store the notebook in a sealed container!
5/9/11 12:31 PM
Katiat325 said...
This is a great idea, I will try this. Hopefully I won't procrastinate.
5/9/11 2:47 PM
KaSchu said...
This is a terrific tip. My swatches are pinned to a sheet of A4 paper with just the amounts written alongside. The notebook is a much better idea. Thanks!
5/10/11 7:28 AM
KaSchu said...

5/11/11 6:55 AM
KaSchu said...

5/11/11 6:58 AM
Corinneski said...
What a great idea! Currently my stash is limited to two plastic crates and I try to review my stash fairly often these days. I discovered a few months ago that I had fabric I had completely forgotten about plus I had multiples of very similar fabrics. A notebook would stop this problem. Thanks for the tip.
5/29/11 0:43 AM
janhem said...
What a brilliant idea I sometimes forget what I have in my stash I have so much that I have to keep it in the garden no room left in the house I keep it in a child's large plastic toy chest i am always rummaging through my stuff it makes my back ache so I'm gonna try this bit of what seems like magic thankyou
6/21/11 5:03 PM
PureJoy said...
I do exactly as you do, but on index cards. Great minds think alike!
2/26/14 3:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.