SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Using Google Images to find things

Viewed 5496 times
Posted by: donaleen
photo

 
 
About donaleen
OR USA
Member since: 4/6/09
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/27/11 11:53 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
This is a general research tip, but i use it a lot for sewing. When I am searching for something on the internet, I often start with Google Images. If I am looking for a fabric, for example, or for bias binding, I will search in images for "Moda Sandy Gervais" or "bias tape". Then, from the image, I go to the web site.

I also have a long distance friend and when we talk on the phone, we often use Google Images to share things with each other.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
minasmom said...
So simple..knew it but didn't think to apply it. Thanks.
5/28/11 9:32 AM
moonthirty said...
I totally do this too! :) Great call to write it up as a tip!
5/28/11 10:02 AM
FreyaStark said...
Yes, good idea. I use Google Images rather than a web search when looking for an elusive pattern because seeing an image of it lets me know right away whether I'm looking at the right one.
5/29/11 2:02 AM
carolrv said...
I read this tip today and immediately went to Google Images for a pattern that I have been looking for. I should also tell you that I had removed my virus protection program yesterday, after my husband and I were suspicious that it was causing slow processing in my computer. (He has not used a virus protection program for several months, for that reason.) After visiting several sites (selling heirloom patterns and supplies), I was notified on-screen that several viruses and spyware programs had entered my computer. DH removed the laptop's battery and installed a free anti-virus program. Now I'm afraid to try Google Images again, and I LOVED it! The slow processing, we think, was a weak or overloaded 3G or 4G system in our location at that time (we live in an RV and have been moving alot lately).
5/30/11 5:18 PM
Winifred said...
This is amazing _ I didn't know what Google images were, and never bothered to find out ! Just what I need , thankyou again. !
5/30/11 5:47 PM
donaleen said...
So sorry about the virus. Very dangerous to be on the web these days without protection. There is a common virus that starts by warning you that you have all these viruses and offers to run virus removal software for you. I suggest Malawarebytes AntiMalalware. Good luck.
5/31/11 6:35 AM
newsewer2011 said...
I also love to do this - you can also change the search to look only for certain colours - so if you are looking for examples of Red cardigans, you can enter Cardigans in the search bar, and down the left side of the screen press on the red button and it will search for red images. This is how it works in Firefox anyway, not sure if IE works the same though
6/6/11 7:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.