SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Drawing a center line on a pattern dart

Viewed 5677 times
Posted by: Vintage Joan
photo

 
 
About Vintage Joan star
ON Canada
Member since: 7/16/07
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
tips added: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/9/11 12:19 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
Oh wow, a classic "D'oh!!" moment -- why didn't I think of this earlier? I always fidgit trying to baste darts down so that the two sides of the dart line up neatly.

This morning it finally hit me: In the late 1960's/early 1970's (when I learned to sew), pattern companies used to print a center line inside each dart. All you had to do was fold and press along the center line; basting neatly so that the sides of the dart lined up became a piece of cake.

I don't know why they stopped doing this (how much time and ink did it save them, really?), but from now on I am going to draw a line in the center of all the darts on my pattern pieces. It should be as easy as holding the tissue up to a window, lining the two sides up, and creasing the tissue -- then drawing a line on the crease and transferring this line to the pattern markings. D'oh indeed! ;)


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
An excellent tip - simple but NOT so obvious that I thought of myself!
4/20/12 1:27 AM
Muffin58 said...
Good idea. I just had to fuss with darts without centre lines yesterday! How annoying! I think they've had to take centre lines out with the advent of multi-sized patterns, but thank God for multi-sized patterns!!
8/24/11 2:42 AM
SewWil said...
I completely forgot about this. Thanks for the reminder. Makes so much sense.
8/12/11 11:46 AM
Susan M said...
You can also draw a line across the very base of the dart, from base point to base point. Find the middle of the new line (a C-Thru ruler works well here.) Then draw a line from the middle of that line to the dart tip. This was the method taught in a pattern drafting class I took. You won't need a light source . If you are doing curved darts it might be different.
7/16/11 7:56 PM
MNBarb said...
Yeah, I had to rediscover this also. It just makes so much more sense. A good reminder for everyone.
7/12/11 4:26 PM
RLL said...
You are right that this is much easier and I have been doing it forever. I also do it with tucks and pleats...when it says to bring the dotted line to the solid line....I draw a line in the middle and fold on the line I drew. Much easier!
7/10/11 8:35 AM
marec said...
genius tip, thanks!
7/9/11 9:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.