SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > How to sew a knit neckband without measuring!

Viewed 5964 times
Posted by: Amanda.Claire
photo

 
 
About Amanda.Claire star
Member since: 3/20/07
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/15/11 8:24 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I have been trying to locate a video that describes how to put on a neckband without actually measuring the opening or the band. Since, I can not find it. I have attempted to recreate it. It is a super quick method and my neckbands always come out hugging the neck. It is way easier than measuring everything under the sun, subtracting a percentage, sewing it in the round and then pinning it in fourths. That just exhausts me, saying all of that. I am only a patient sewer if the tediousness produces really good results. The entire tip is on my blog. The video is the first part of the tip and the pictures are just the attaching process. Clairesews.blogspot.com under the date July 15th 2011.
((Sewing hugs))

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


19 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Patzee said...
I need to try this. Thanks!
7/16/11 0:21 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Thank you for putting this up. Your neckband looks great. Measuring strips has not worked well for me with mystery knits with limited recovery. I have had better luck skipping the measuring thing as well on my knit crew neck muslins and getting a feel for how much to ease in the curved areas. After a couple of wonky necklines I tossed the measuring tape and had better results. I have sewed for a long time but never much with knits until the past couple of years.
7/16/11 8:46 AM
Memaddiemike said...
Thanks for this tip. I'm going to give it a try next t-shirt. The video was especially helpful to see the different curves. I'm new to sewing knits...made a couple of kwik sew shirts with wearable results so far. Thanks for showing the v neck too. I wasn't understanding that in print/pics.
7/16/11 9:03 AM
Patti B said...
Thanks so much for taking the time to show your method -- simple and sensible. Here's a direct blog link to your tutorial.
7/16/11 10:04 AM
tatica said...
good job. I'd like to know if you finish the armholes same way.
7/16/11 10:50 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Thanks for all of the nice comments! I do this method because like mssewcrazy states, there are such varieties of knits and varieties of curves that the other way just does not always work well. I have found that sleevless armholes work better with a knit binding slightly pulled when pinned.
7/16/11 11:52 AM
MarianS said...
Beautiful neckline!!! I am so anxious to try this method. Thank you!
7/16/11 1:35 PM
BabblingBrook said...
Thanks for the tip! Were you thinking of this video with Sarah Velben (Threads)? http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/3839/video-a-neckline-binding-for-knits
7/16/11 9:13 PM
marec said...
Thank you-this is a good tip! I pinned your tutorial link onto Pinterest and hope you get lots of hits on your blog :-)
7/16/11 9:13 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
The neckline tutorial by Sarah Velben on Threads does the measuring similarly. I relooked at this and I just do the pinning differently. I like a pin before and after a change in the strength of the stretch. Maybe, that is where I started and morphed into what I do now. Thanks for the Pinterest too!
7/16/11 11:17 PM
NVK said...
I just re-watched your video. I love it and have bookmarked it. Thank you for the time and effort you put in making this video. It is part of my sewing treasures!
7/17/11 1:28 PM
mickisews said...
Thanks for this Tip. Are the stretching ratios the same for a round neckline?
7/17/11 2:58 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Mikki: Gosh, I do not even use ratios, that would make it more scientific. If it is completely round you could just measure the opening and (depending on the stretchiness of the fabric) subtract about 15-20% of that length add seam allowances and divide by fourths. On second thought, Sarah Veblen's video on threads would be a good option. She measures the neck by stretching the band around half the neck opening and then dividing it into fourths.
7/17/11 4:12 PM
dollieo said...
Brilliant, you make it look so easy.This i well try.Thanks
7/18/11 8:59 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
Elastics have differing stretchesm too. I've never understood how a pattern can say waist measurement less 1" for elastic- for any elastic! All elastics and knits do not have the same stretch. Great tip!
7/24/11 10:46 PM
purplebouquet said...
Thank you. I will bookmark this. I use the traditional method (measure, calculate a percentage, etc.) and always end up with either a puckered or stretched-out neckline along my front left. Your method might eliminate that. Can't wait to try it.
7/26/11 1:01 PM
Annelune said...
thankyou for this, it looks really good. I have a few mostly-finished knit tops I abandoned when I got to the neck as I could see the instructions for finishing them were inadequate, but I think this will do the trick nicely! I have always had trouble getting the right stretch for neckbands, as every knit stretches differently. But this kinda bypasses those problems.
7/28/11 2:28 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Great video and tonight I will fix the top I screwed up on using this technique!
7/29/11 3:00 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Laurielou: Sorry you have to unpick a knit! Good luck! I hope this works for you!!
7/29/11 8:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.