Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Rustic "comfort stops" (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5221 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Posted by: donaleen
photo
About donaleen
OR USA
Member since: 4/6/09
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/5/11 3:44 PM
I removed the crotch seam, starting an inch or so before the inner leg seam for about five or six inches back. Now I can do it standing up. For those of you who love the outdoors but hate it when nature calls, this is a real boon. I can even do it standing up. Makes hiking so much easier.
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
joysew said...
I read that in the old days women never wore panties under those full skirts for the same reason!
8/5/11 6:24 PM
donaleen said...
You can still wear panties. I did this to a loose fitting pair of overalls. I like to wear overalls when I hike. I like the bib because of the pockets. But comfort calls with bib overalls are really hard. I think a full skirt would have its issues, too.
8/5/11 8:42 PM
kathi s said...
Boy, that is devotion to nature! Our pioneer ancestors also used that method for convenience. I inherited a couple of pairs of 1890's drawers that belonged to a great, great aunt. They are basically two calf length legs attached only at the waistband.
8/5/11 11:06 PM
Annie- oh said...
Thanks for this idea - and, Kathi s, thanks for the description of your great-great auntie's drawers - what an idea even for today!
8/6/11 10:54 AM
Karine said...
LOL! Great idea - very practical.
8/6/11 12:08 PM
mssewcrazy said...
My mother was born in 1905 and said as a girl they wore what she described as "split" drawers/bloomers under their dresses for ease of going to the bathroom . I guess that is what Kathi S has inherited.
8/7/11 7:51 AM
donaleen said...
Kathis.... this is a hike that starts half an hour from my house. http://www.flickr.com/photos/donaleen/6019973425/ The photo was taken about three miles into the hike and after half a mile of elevation gain.
8/7/11 10:14 PM
costumecarol said...
I put an invisible zipper in a pair of overalls to accomplish the same thing. I had first heard of this when a colleague when on a hiking trip overseas.
8/9/11 9:43 PM
donaleen said...
I thought about all sorts of closures... zippers, snaps, velcro. But they all sounded uncomfortable and hard to operate. This opening IS invisible and not at all uncomfortable.
8/10/11 11:27 AM
beauturbo said...
Good idea if you live way, way away from everyone and like to hike alone. And if remember to grab the right other pair of pants, when hiking with others or going into town! Alsoopart of the reason why they used to have split bloomers in times past probably. As safety first always, and as a woman I do think we are in a bad position with our pants down around our ankles to run, fight or even notice and see a mountain lion or a bear coming at you under that one particular circumstance! So from a safety stand point, I could see doing that. Also equality among the sexes and all- that would more level the playing field for the safety issues of being hiking all out by your lonesome and needing to pee sometimes under certain circumstances.
8/11/11 5:37 PM
donaleen said...
Actually it is also great for public restrooms that are iffy.
8/15/11 1:06 AM
kathi s said...
Years ago I went on a long bus trip to a rural part of Costa Rica. Half way, we stopped at a "rest stop". The rest stop consisted of a ditch by the side of the road- the men did their business at one end and the ladies did theirs at the other end. Because they had long, full skirts, modesty was preserved. In my jeans, I had no choice except holding it for another three hours.
8/16/11 11:16 PM
HagridsMom said...
I noticed in China several llittle kids whose pants were open like this and was told that's how they do toilet training there. It was most noticeable when they were cliimbing steps otherwise not too exposed.
9/22/11 7:56 PM
donaleen said...
Maybe it depends on the size of the opening. My openings are really invisible.
9/23/11 11:04 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us