SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > What needle is in my machine?

Viewed 5333 times
Posted by: lca
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lca star
CO USA
Member since: 6/4/07
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/11/11 5:09 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
I use a wash away marker and just write the type and size needle I have in my machine on the machine. I also write the length and width of any special setting that I am using. It wipes off when done. I have not had any problems with the marks not coming off. I use the crayola brand of washable markers.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Kathy_AZ said...
What a great idea -- thanks so much for sharing it. I'm constantly throwing out good needles simply because I can't remember what they are.
10/11/11 5:31 PM
Teeavilnor said...
I do almost the same, except I use a very small sticky note.
10/11/11 9:25 PM
marycds said...
How simple. Great idea.
10/11/11 9:44 PM
Baychel3 said...
FANTASTIC idea@ Thank you. I'm so tired of taking the needle(s) in/out to figure out what I last put in the machine!
10/12/11 1:18 AM
Patzee said...
So simple!
10/12/11 1:50 AM
RLL said...
I also use a sticky note, but I think your idea is pretty brilliant. I have been using dry erase markers on the mirror in the bathroom for years. I always remember what I need from the store while in the shower and forget by the time I get downstairs, so....notes to self on mirror!
10/12/11 8:33 AM
JPForster said...
Wow - great idea! I'm a new sewer and my close vision is not the greatest. Difficult to constantly be checking what needle size I have in my machine. Now I'll always know! Great tip!
10/12/11 9:14 AM
Deepika said...
What a great idea! I'll definitely use it next time.
10/12/11 10:54 AM
FrammaJoy said...
I write it on a piece of masking tape. Too afraid to write on my machine!
10/12/11 10:06 PM
Longblades said...
I keep a square of fabric by my machine that has all my needle sizes marked on it. When I put a needle in I move a glass bead pin to mark which it was. I also store all my new needles on this square. It's easier to get them out of the fabric than that little case they come in.
10/14/11 5:21 PM
quathy said...
i love this idea! i've used sticky notes, too, but they fall off. thanks for the tip!!
10/15/11 9:28 PM
solosmocker said...
Brilliant!
10/18/11 7:41 PM
lettingg0 said...
I do this also and since I have multiple machines it saves me from having to toss a needle that I used very little because I couldn't remember what size it was!
10/23/11 10:08 AM
TexasPat said...
Must try this. Now, I put a small piece of painters tape on machine and write needle type/#. Cross out and write new until a new piece of tape is needed.
11/14/11 11:34 AM
Deepika said...
this is a test
12/1/11 10:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.