SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > What needle is in my machine?

Viewed 5465 times
Posted by: lca
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lca star
CO USA
Member since: 6/4/07
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/11/11 5:09 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
I use a wash away marker and just write the type and size needle I have in my machine on the machine. I also write the length and width of any special setting that I am using. It wipes off when done. I have not had any problems with the marks not coming off. I use the crayola brand of washable markers.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
this is a test
12/1/11 10:53 AM
TexasPat said...
Must try this. Now, I put a small piece of painters tape on machine and write needle type/#. Cross out and write new until a new piece of tape is needed.
11/14/11 11:34 AM
lettingg0 said...
I do this also and since I have multiple machines it saves me from having to toss a needle that I used very little because I couldn't remember what size it was!
10/23/11 10:08 AM
solosmocker said...
Brilliant!
10/18/11 7:41 PM
quathy said...
i love this idea! i've used sticky notes, too, but they fall off. thanks for the tip!!
10/15/11 9:28 PM
Longblades said...
I keep a square of fabric by my machine that has all my needle sizes marked on it. When I put a needle in I move a glass bead pin to mark which it was. I also store all my new needles on this square. It's easier to get them out of the fabric than that little case they come in.
10/14/11 5:21 PM
FrammaJoy said...
I write it on a piece of masking tape. Too afraid to write on my machine!
10/12/11 10:06 PM
Deepika said...
What a great idea! I'll definitely use it next time.
10/12/11 10:54 AM
JPForster said...
Wow - great idea! I'm a new sewer and my close vision is not the greatest. Difficult to constantly be checking what needle size I have in my machine. Now I'll always know! Great tip!
10/12/11 9:14 AM
RLL said...
I also use a sticky note, but I think your idea is pretty brilliant. I have been using dry erase markers on the mirror in the bathroom for years. I always remember what I need from the store while in the shower and forget by the time I get downstairs, so....notes to self on mirror!
10/12/11 8:33 AM
Patzee said...
So simple!
10/12/11 1:50 AM
Baychel3 said...
FANTASTIC idea@ Thank you. I'm so tired of taking the needle(s) in/out to figure out what I last put in the machine!
10/12/11 1:18 AM
marycds said...
How simple. Great idea.
10/11/11 9:44 PM
Teeavilnor said...
I do almost the same, except I use a very small sticky note.
10/11/11 9:25 PM
Kathy_AZ said...
What a great idea -- thanks so much for sharing it. I'm constantly throwing out good needles simply because I can't remember what they are.
10/11/11 5:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

More Info
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.