SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > stabilizing presser foot on carpeting.

Viewed 5380 times
Posted by: svetlana
photo

 
 
About svetlana star
IL USA
Member since: 12/30/06
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/23/11 3:54 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
My sewing room has old ugly thick carpeting. Someday when I have time AND money, it will be replaced. In the meantime, I make due and am grateful I have a sewing room. However, the thick carpeting made it very difficult to use the thread cutting feature on the foot pedal of my Juki F600. I also found that when I was putting "the pedal to the metal" my leg would get tired. I thought of putting a piece of plywood under the foot pedal, but I didn't have any. But I did have a thin hard cover children's book. I put some tlatex waffle shelf liner underneath and on top of the book. My pedal stays put, I have to use much less effort to kick my machine into high gear, and I have come to love my foot pedal thread cutter.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
sewabit said...
That latex shelf liner also keeps my foot pedal from sliding on the tile floor.
2/22/12 1:34 AM
Snoo said...
I took the carpet out of my spare bedroom/sewing room and had sheet vinyl installed. It is a beautiful pattern in a matte finish that looks like squares of 12" tile - a very hard finish that will really wear well. I did this a year ago and am still very happy with it. I took up the old carpet myself so the cost was actually quite reasonable.
1/15/12 6:47 PM
Gildarose said...
Great idea, This will work great for me when using my backup machine when I don't want to move a pedal stay, just to do a small job. Thanks!!!
10/27/11 7:21 PM
happytobehere said...
It might be me but I can't picture a thread cutter at floor level. What am I missing here?
10/24/11 12:18 PM
happytobehere said...
Sorry, but I can't picture this! Clipping threads at floor level just doesn't seem right. What am I missing here?
10/24/11 12:17 PM
Mufffet said...
Get some plywood or an acrylic cutting board or some wall board or...or....and then donate the book to the library. :)
10/24/11 11:29 AM
Mufffet said...
Book? Really? Pick up a sheet of plywood when you go out next time. :) Or an acrylic cutting board, or a piece of wall board....or...or.....:) BOOK??? But seriously, thanks for the idea...
10/24/11 11:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.