SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Uber Smart Digital Pattern Organization with OneNote

Viewed 5566 times
Posted by: ChantillyDreams
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ChantillyDreams
NY United States
Member since: 11/26/11
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/10/11 9:16 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Web site/URL: photo
An update:
After pondering the many ways I could organize my pattern stash, I realized that using Microsoft's OneNote would be a great solution! I created two notebooks, one for patterns, and another for fabric so I can open both windows side by side whilst planning my next sewing project. I set up the notebook with pattern category tabs such as dresses, tops, pants, etc.. Cataloging the info for the patterns has been simple and relatively quick. Once I find the pattern online by using the pattern maker sites (I'm a member of ClubBMV) I simply right click on the pattern jacket, back cover with yardage, line art, etc., and click "Add to One Note." The page is then added to my notebook in a flash. The beautiful thing about OneNote is that it indexes it's contents so the notebook is searchable by keyword. For instance, if I want to find all of my dress patterns that are suitable for knits, I can search for dresses, knits, and wahlah they appear!!! Uber smart! Plus, I can print the notebook if I desire. I also saved it as a .pdf, which I then imported to my Droid phone so that my whole collection is handy when I shop for fabric, etc..
You can read more about this tip and see a screenshot on my blog http://www.sewphisticatedlady.com

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
EnloeNurse said...
A great idea, thanks
12/11/11 0:19 AM
Patti B said...
Clever!
12/11/11 9:10 AM
quathy said...
I love OneNote, too, but haven't used in on my Droid because you can't sync like you can with a MS phone... I hadn't thought of using the .pdf feature! Super idea!
12/11/11 11:25 PM
Sharon Rose said...
WOW! This is, without a doubt, one of the best tips I have ever read. I have a ton of patterns and all are stored in boxes which makes reviewing them a time-consuming task. And it seems I will invariably be shopping, locate a beautiful piece of fabraic, and not know how much to purchase...which usually results in a cautionary, too much. I have the One Note on my computer, but had not explored it. I definnitely will, now. And I am buying myself a Droid phone for Christmas, so the suggestion of how to use this info with that comes at a timely date. This will save me gobs of time snce I won't have to rummage through my files of patterns that are stored in boxes like I have done in the past. The old saying of "2 heads are better than one" sure applies here. Thank you for sharing. Have a blessed Christmas.
12/12/11 8:58 AM
Pj3g said...
OK, I am technically challenged so don't understand your tip but after checking your blog, I have to tell you I love your sewing room and your dogs are too cute!!! Bet it's wonderful to come home and be greeted by those 3!
12/14/11 4:34 PM
bconky said...
Thanks great idea
12/15/11 2:17 PM
ChantillyDreams said...
Thanks so much for all the nice feedback. Glad the tip helped! For me it's a Godsend. Happy sewing!
1/29/12 11:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.