SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Unconventional Mitered Binding

Viewed 5586 times
Posted by: stitchinjenny
photo

 
 
About stitchinjenny star
TX USA
Member since: 12/8/11
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/18/12 10:54 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I developed this technique after being inspired by an ancient sewing VHS I had seen years ago.

This is not the typical way to apply mitered binding to a project but it is sooo cool. You will get perfect results and won't have to hand sew the mitered corners shut.

This method can be used to bind a quilt, a wall hanging, a place mat, a Tablet Keeper, etc. - anything that needs a mitered corner.

Please click visit this URL to see more:
http://sewvacoutletblog.com/2012/01/18/my-beautiful-tablet-keeper/


(The link to my free mitering video tutorial is near the bottom of the blog post.)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Celticstitcher said...
fantastic - thank you, I am just about to make a baby play mat and this will finish it beautifully
2/6/12 7:25 PM
Alice said...
Loved the video. I had saved a method by Margaret Islander but there was a lot of measuring involved and your's is so simple. If you only knew how I'd struggled with a trim on a jacket once, ripped so many times and ended up sewing it by hand. You're a cutie and I love your personality. Many thanks and great, clear shots, thanks hubby.
2/1/12 6:20 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Cool, I'll bookmark this for the future. I like this method.
1/26/12 1:55 PM
elsew said...
Fantastic information in your video presentation. Cannot wait to try this one...I just finished binding a twin size quilt and this would have come in so handy.
1/19/12 9:48 AM
VivianZ said...
Great tip. Thanks for the video you created.
1/19/12 8:56 AM
Tarrbaby said...
Great technique!!! Wish I had this info when I made mitered corners binding a jacket, I got it done but this way is much easier.
1/19/12 8:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.