SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > how NOT to clean your machine

Viewed 5556 times
Posted by: carolrv
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolrv
Member since: 5/28/10
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/31/12 7:39 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
This morning before starting a new project, I decided to clean the lint from my machine. I opened the bobbin door and picked up what I thought was my newly purchased can of compressed air. I started spraying and thought it "acted funny". When I looked at the directions, I discovered that I had sprayed craft adhesive onto (and INTO) my machine! Fortunately, I am married to The King Of Solvents, who took over the catastrophe management. He first tried the least harmful solvent, which is spit. It didn't work, so next we tried rubbing alcohol. After that failed he tried naptha, which removed the stickiness. I used paper towels and q-tips to clean the areas of the machine which felt sticky. Thankfully I hadn't removed the bobbin case yet!
Lessons learned: READ THE LABEL, put away things after using them, and wait until you are wide awake before doing anything involving machines (other than the coffeemaker).

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


18 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
EGADS!!
3/6/12 8:02 AM
Alice said...
OMG! I would have had a heart attack. From now on I WILL read that label.
2/22/12 4:41 PM
Alice said...
OMG! I would have had a heart attack. From now on I WILL read that label.
2/22/12 4:41 PM
cleverclogs said...
Ooh yes, I remember a disaster involving spray glue and a video camera! (Morals like yours, but also never pick up the can and spray while talking to a student about how you must keep the gear in good condition!)
2/16/12 5:13 AM
Sewnsewmom said...
Aye! I can only imagine the sick feeling that you had. Thank you for sharing your story. It will most certainly help me be careful. I'm glad that it had a happy ending!
2/5/12 2:21 PM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for sharing your story. As well as being amusing it will help the rest of us take care next time.
2/4/12 3:42 AM
JEF said...
Your poor thing. Take comfort that your story will undoubtedly make everyone pause and double check what is in her hand before pulling the trigger.
2/1/12 10:55 AM
RLL said...
Wow, what a way to start the day! And what a lesson learned...look before leaping mama always said!
2/1/12 10:26 AM
threadandthumb said...
O dear. Lesson learned. Just wondering if your neighbors heard you scream - mine would have heard me ; )
2/1/12 10:24 AM
Karine said...
OMG! I can just imagine how you felt when you discovered what you had done. Glad for the positive outcome.
2/1/12 8:57 AM
Melinda In Tulsa said...
OMG! I'm glad your machine is going to be okay! Another reason to NOT use canned air cleaning our machines! So sorry you had this trouble.
2/1/12 8:52 AM
anika said...
So sorry this happened, and glad you were able to fix it. Love the bit about 'the least harmful solvent...'
2/1/12 8:18 AM
Fran G said...
yikes!
2/1/12 7:10 AM
sew2006 said...
Hope your machine's Ok and you have a great hubby who stepped in to help. I was in the sewing store when a lady brough in her friends machine that she had wanted to oil...she grabbed her little bottle and put a drop in every opening, opened the door and even took the case out. When she came back 1hr later nothing MOVED. Then she read the label FRAY CHECK little bottle looked just like oil.
2/1/12 0:42 AM
StarrSews said...
Wow! I thought I had a problem this morning when I took apart my bobbin case and misplaced a part. You have a wonderful husband!
2/1/12 0:30 AM
heathergwo said...
Oh wow!! So sorry this happened to you, but I have to say it's kind of a funny story to be able to tell!
2/1/12 0:07 AM
Laurie Lou said...
This was surely a BIG...OMG! Hopefully you got it all!
1/31/12 1:34 PM
DDisciplines said...
That sounds so traumatic! I'm really glad you were able together it fixed.
1/31/12 9:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.