SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Inserting sleeves

Viewed 5811 times
Posted by: regine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About regine star
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 9/26/05
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/30/12 2:55 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
My sewing teacher taught me to sew two parallel lines at the sleeve head by machine and then draw up the threads until the sleeve fits into the armhole. I always had trouble with this method. The other day I was putting sleeves into a tailored jacket and I hand tacked the sleeve head. I had much better control over the gathering and the sleeve fitted in perfectly.

Then I tacked the sleeve in, tried it on and then only sewed it by machine.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Alice said...
I have found that if you place the sleeve section on the bottom and the garment on top...the feed dogs will do the easing for you. Perhaps, another way would be to ONLY do the sleeve first w/o sewing to the garment using the method where you place an index finger behind the foot and that way the feed dog will do the easing needed....then try pinning the sleeve in place. I think I like the method Cherylwashere used but I think it needs to be re-written because it was a bit confusing to follow...it seemed repetitive in a couple of spots. Maybe a video would help, if she could do that.
8/9/12 9:56 AM
regine said...
Thank you Cheryl, sounds interesting, will try it next time.
8/4/12 12:26 PM
cherylwashere said...
Our Home Economic teacher taught us that method many, many years ago...for me some 50 years ago. I have been using an easier method that works well for me... I do not sew up the side seams first...nor do I sew up the sleeve seam... I do sew the shoulder seams first... Now, always having right sides together... match and pin the center of the sleeve arch to the shoulder seam... match and pin the sleeve notch to the front and back section notches ... snip fabric where you need to to ease both to fit together and pin... sew the arched part of sleeve to the front and back sections... right sides together match the notches on the sleeve and pin... match front and back section notches and pin... match your sleeve edge and front and back section edges to meet and pin...match front and back sections together and pin... match sleeve edges together and pin... now sew one continuous seam from the edge of the sleeve to the edge of the front and back sections...or vice versa. Your done...so easy too.
8/3/12 10:29 AM
regine said...
Hi Celia, I am so pleased to hear that you have had the same experience as I have. Maybe the teachers do not always have the best methods.
8/3/12 2:16 AM
CeliaK said...
regine, I've been sewing for a really long time and must have had the same sewing teacher. I, too, put gathered sleeves in the way you described -- AND HAVE FOREVER. Last year, I was making 12 lined, costume jackets with gathered, set in sleeves. I just could not get the sleeves to go in. Finally, like you, I hand-basted the sleeve cap and voilá, it went in perfectly. I'm now a convert. I'll take the few extra minutes (maybe 5) and do the hand-basting. Good for us!
8/2/12 6:29 PM
waltzqueen said...
Gee- I also hate the parallel lines method but never thought to just sew it. You're a genius!
8/2/12 1:03 PM
regine said...
thanks Annie
8/1/12 11:33 AM
Annie- oh said...
This is a very helpful tip, and an addition to handsewing skills, thanks.
8/1/12 9:30 AM
regine said...
Hello Annie, Yes it is the same.
7/31/12 0:42 AM
Annie- oh said...
Help, help: is hand tacking the same as hand sewing (a line for gathering)? Thanks.
7/30/12 7:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.