SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Pattern Storage Bags

Viewed 6287 times
Posted by: Pj3g
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Pj3g star
WI USA
Member since: 2/14/11
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/10/12 2:51 PM
Last Updated: 12/17/13 11:09 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Ultra Pro Silver Size Comic Book Bags are perfect for storing sewing patterns in. That link shows the cost is $5.51 with free shipping for 100 bags which is pretty reasonable. The price does fluctate often so don't think I gave the wrong price if it's different when you click on the link.

This "Silver Size" bag measures 7 & 1/4" X 10 & 1/2" so it holds all the larger, wider or taller sized patterns that seem to be available today. Here are a couple examples

I often buy multiple sizes of the same pattern to accommodate my growing grandchildren and these bags easily hold 2 of the same pattern keeping them together. And this bags size makes it easy to put the tissue pattern pieces back into, yet there's still plenty of room for the new pattern pieces you've made too.

I close the bags with Pattern Fix It Tape which is exactly the same thing as Nexcare Paper Tape that you can buy at any pharmacy or grocery store. This tape can be opened and closed repeatedly without leaving any sticky residue like scotch tape does. It works fantastic. Anyway, any excess length of the bag is neatly folded over and closed so your patterns look tidy in your pattern boxes and then are easy to flip through.

I have read about using comic book bags before possibly here or other places but they always showed smaller sized bags which would just barely fit the old 'standard' sized patterns. I just happened upon this larger "Silver Size" and was very happy because they are just what I wanted. I have used Ziplocks but they are really sized wrong for sewing patterns. These work so much better and give you a totally clear view. I love them and thought maybe others would too.

Oh, the bags are acid free so they would also be good protection for those vintage patterns some of you collect.

Related review on the bins I use for pattern storage

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


5 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
emmyhonan said...
I went to your flickr site and enjoyed all your ideas for organizing. Your clear boxes for patterns, for example, are so much better than the cardboard pattern boxes. Thank you.
9/16/12 8:03 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I am on my way to Wal Mart. I have been struggling with the card board boxes for too long.
9/20/12 8:33 AM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for the link. I've been using coming book covers for years, but the comic book store in my town is no longer here.
10/1/12 9:26 AM
MissMelly said...
I love this idea. I've been searching for a zipper bag and had just resigned myself to gallon sized Ziplocs. I have found that the 3 drawer Steralite system is perfect for pattern storage. Very sturdy and stackable. I use photo box dividers for my different categories.
10/23/12 1:31 AM
konniekapow said...
gosh how organized! I use ziploc bags (there's a good sized one from Ikea) and store them in square boxes from Ikea. I envy your neatness, mine are very haphazard!
10/29/12 3:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.