Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Pattern Storage Bags (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 6008 times
Review rated Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Posted by: Pj3g
photo
Friend of PR
About Pj3g star
WI USA
Member since: 2/14/11
Reviews written: 39
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/10/12 2:51 PM
Last Updated: 12/17/13 11:09 AM
Web site/URL: photo
Ultra Pro Silver Size Comic Book Bags are perfect for storing sewing patterns in. That link shows the cost is $5.51 with free shipping for 100 bags which is pretty reasonable. The price does fluctate often so don't think I gave the wrong price if it's different when you click on the link.

This "Silver Size" bag measures 7 & 1/4" X 10 & 1/2" so it holds all the larger, wider or taller sized patterns that seem to be available today. Here are a couple examples

I often buy multiple sizes of the same pattern to accommodate my growing grandchildren and these bags easily hold 2 of the same pattern keeping them together. And this bags size makes it easy to put the tissue pattern pieces back into, yet there's still plenty of room for the new pattern pieces you've made too.

I close the bags with Pattern Fix It Tape which is exactly the same thing as Nexcare Paper Tape that you can buy at any pharmacy or grocery store. This tape can be opened and closed repeatedly without leaving any sticky residue like scotch tape does. It works fantastic. Anyway, any excess length of the bag is neatly folded over and closed so your patterns look tidy in your pattern boxes and then are easy to flip through.

I have read about using comic book bags before possibly here or other places but they always showed smaller sized bags which would just barely fit the old 'standard' sized patterns. I just happened upon this larger "Silver Size" and was very happy because they are just what I wanted. I have used Ziplocks but they are really sized wrong for sewing patterns. These work so much better and give you a totally clear view. I love them and thought maybe others would too.

Oh, the bags are acid free so they would also be good protection for those vintage patterns some of you collect.

Related review on the bins I use for pattern storage
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
emmyhonan said...
I went to your flickr site and enjoyed all your ideas for organizing. Your clear boxes for patterns, for example, are so much better than the cardboard pattern boxes. Thank you.
9/16/12 8:03 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I am on my way to Wal Mart. I have been struggling with the card board boxes for too long.
9/20/12 8:33 AM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for the link. I've been using coming book covers for years, but the comic book store in my town is no longer here.
10/1/12 9:26 AM
MissMelly said...
I love this idea. I've been searching for a zipper bag and had just resigned myself to gallon sized Ziplocs. I have found that the 3 drawer Steralite system is perfect for pattern storage. Very sturdy and stackable. I use photo box dividers for my different categories.
10/23/12 1:31 AM
konniekapow said...
gosh how organized! I use ziploc bags (there's a good sized one from Ikea) and store them in square boxes from Ikea. I envy your neatness, mine are very haphazard!
10/29/12 3:56 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us