SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > Fit the Tee to a T

A PatternReview.com Class
Viewed 5469 times
Posted by: talkeetnagirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About talkeetnagirl
AK USA
Member since: 3/28/09
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
classes reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/8/13 11:17 AM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Web site/URL: Fit the Tee to a T
This is the first class I've taken on PR. Definitely a good start!

Class is well organized and presented in a logical, step by step, easy to follow format. The videos are clear and make it simple to follow. Jennifer is timely in her responses to questions and comments. I have sewn for many years and though basic, this information is very helpful in brushing up on my skills. I love being able to go back to the video lessons to view whenever I like. If you need help with a particular section, it's easy to find and view. I did not set in the sleeve; I prefer the flat method of construction. Jennifer's instructions are good though, and I'm sure either method will work nicely.

The only negative is the limits of the PR website. It's not extremely user friendly and is a bit cumbersome to navigate. Hopefully, the new design will address these issues.

The pattern is excellent and deceptively simple. I found the fit is snugger than I like, but that is easily changed by sizing up. The overall fit of the pattern is very flattering, and the lines simple. The actual sewing is fast. 15 or 20 minutes depending on how organized I am!

I would recommend this class to anyone, beginning or advanced.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Thanks for the review. Sounds like a class that I may need to take.
1/9/13 6:41 AM
SandiMacD said...
I don't know the answer for PR- they led the way with online classes. I think they are competing with Craftsy Classes concept of never expiring but its not as successful. I signed up for 2 PR video classes. The videos are right on. The instructors are very helpful to a post. But something needs to be changed in the format. Reading 78 pages of posts doesn't work. So the same questions are asked over and over. It would be interesting to hear what the instructors have to say about this format.
1/10/13 6:49 AM
SandiMacD said...
So now i will talk about the class. The videos were really good. I like that Jennifer has designed the class around one pattern. It is a very flattering pattern for many shapes. She includes FBA, neck and shoulder alterations. I like her teaching. She does get busy and is sometimes off the boards for a few days but catches up. A few folks have had to post twice because it just gets lost in the PR format (discussed in above comment). Buying the pattern is not straightforward. The PR link did not display that the pattern comes in two styles- Misses and Womens and it does not describe the differences between them. I am not the only one that posted about confusion over the pattern. I ended up getting a Misses from PR when a Womens would have fit me much better. It would have helped a lot if all the pattern information had been on the class sign up page or come in an email after joining. It took me 2 weeks of posts and board searches to figure out the Pattern thing and even then I didn't get enough info to buy the correct style. I enrolled the same time a Sarah V's bodice class and with holidays I haven't made my Tee yet. I am debating whether to order the Womens or make alterations to the Misses that i have. It is inspiring to see the pictures from all the folks that made Tees- they really came out well. Jennifer has created a very attractive style that lends itself to color blocking and other creative changes.
1/10/13 7:05 AM
talkeetnagirl said...
Commenting further on SandiMacD's comments. I have taken many Craftsy classes and love them! They are professionally done, videography excellent, teachers excellent, and the process of signing up, viewing lessons, commenting or asking questions is seamless and so easy. I would have preferred this class on Craftsy because of how well they do classes. This is the only PR class I've taken, but for my money, I'd go with Craftsy if the class is available there. Having said that, I really hope the overhaul on this site makes it easier to navigate and find things.
1/11/13 3:37 PM
talkeetnagirl said...
One more small comment, I just tried to edit my previous comment. It won't do it. Irritating.
1/11/13 3:40 PM
Deepika said...
This is excellent feedback. We are indeed making some changes to our class format which will make taking classes even easier.
1/17/13 11:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.