SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Washable Wonder Tape

Viewed 5956 times
Posted by: SavageCoco
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SavageCoco star
CA
Member since: 1/3/12
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 18 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/23/13 3:09 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
Web site/URL: photo
1/4" Washable Wonder Tape is the single, most fantastic sewing notion created. Ever. I can't work without it now that I've discovered it. I use it to baste seams together instead of stitching or pins. Baste up hems, turn under facing raw edges, stablize flimsy seams or narrow hems as they're put through the machine. It's malleable, re-posiitonable, a perfect 1/4" and washes away without a trace. It's fantastic. Click the little green camera above to go The Heroine's Closet for a tutorial on how it was used to "baste" mesh fashion fabric to a tricot lining on the Divine Dinner dress.
Get some, you'll love it!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
2mulie said...
Wawak has it under sewing notions, tailoring tapes for $2.70. I get several at a time, and they've had the best price for it I've seen.
2/1/13 3:23 PM
SavageCoco said...
It's BRILLIANT for zippers, matching plaids, doesn't gum up the needles, washes right out. I'm lovin' it! Have I mentioned that?!
1/31/13 3:50 AM
sew2006 said...
Amanda.Clair, no it doesn't gum up the needle at all. When done project it'll wash right out. Last week I had to replace a zipper in a pair of jeans, used to hold zipper and pockets in place.
1/30/13 6:02 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Does it get all over the needle?
1/30/13 3:20 PM
ASiverson said...
Sounds like I'll have to get some. And thank you for sharing the tutorial.
1/24/13 10:12 AM
sew2006 said...
My favorite use for this tape is putting in zippers. Much easier when they stay put. Thanks for reminding me about the neckline edge use.
1/23/13 6:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

More Info
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.