SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Class Reviews > Craftsy Sewing with Knits:5 Wardrobe Essentials

Viewed 6419 times
Posted by: leoniep
photo

 
 
About leoniep star
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/16/12
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
classes reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/26/13 9:23 PM
Rating: thumbsdown
Review Rating: Helpful by 12 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I enrolled in this class because I am keen to improve my sewing skills so the garment I make look more professional. This class came with 5 included PDF patterns, which made it very cost effective, so I signed up.
Meg McElwee seems like a very nice person, but the videos are way too long. While it's nice to know a few stories about your teacher, she waffles on and on and on, and on, and on......
I did pick up a few good tips, but I'm not sure it was worth all that time watching her cut out and sew and talk.
This class might be suitable for an absolute beginner who might benefit from the slower pace.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Nursebennett said...
I enrolled for the same reasons as you and I'm having a hard time watching them because of her halting speech pattern and the use of "uhm" every few words. Maybe this is a new experience for her, as she doesn't come across as comfortable in front of the camera. Hopefully I can manage to watch them all, but I'm skeptical.
1/26/13 11:04 PM
SandiMacD said...
I agree. The price was right because it included the pattern. I thought of it as a nice idea to show you each step of sewing the pattern. After her stories about how much she sewed for he boys using knits and that she wrote books with patterns I was excited to buy them. But after looking at reviews I didnt- they were mostly home dec projects and not any different then other free home dec internet patterns. I thought her segment on knit fabric types was helpful. She went over a wide selection and you could see her demonstrating the stretch. But I thought she relied a bit too much on her students- asking students with more experience to assist by answering the questions posted. Its OK to learn from others but I think the instructor should respond as well- at least to clarify or verify answers. It also a hard format to find answers. There are a variety of places to ask a question. Having an intructor tell us that she answered it for a another student and to read everything to look for it was not the most helpful. Also Craftsy had her using a Bernina which was not her machine so she didnt know how to use it and kept saying that- or stumbling to figure it out. I think she is new to teaching and with a little time she fain experience. Some of the video was instructional and the free pattern certainly was worth the cost of the class. But not a lot of meat about knits- more of a pattern sew along and lots of vignettes about herself.
1/27/13 1:59 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I agree absolutely with what everyone has said. I got a refund on this class.
1/27/13 6:33 AM
geniknits said...
I really enjoyed the class. Yes she does go on at times, but those are the times that I could get up and get a drink or sew my seam, etc. I think the patterns are excellent and the fit is terrific. I thought it was well worth the cost. Sorry to hear many think otherwise :(
1/27/13 2:41 PM
sewme47 said...
I found this class a waste of my time and asked for a refund. I like my other craftsy classes.
1/28/13 9:24 PM
Vanginney said...
I loved this class. Yes they are long, but for someone who is a beginner she explains the whys. Absolutely recommend this class!
5/3/13 8:31 PM
RoseOK said...
Thanks for all the feedback. I was debating what classes to take. With your comments, I can eliminate one.
5/29/13 1:45 PM
Fewofakind said...
I think this is a great class for true beginners. Few classes can help the teen or adult beginner and this assumes you know very little. She does say um too much but after a while it fades into the background. I bought this thinking it would be a good starter, but the patterns I've tried have a good cut and a little flair (hoodie which I cut and added a zipper, and the yoga pants).
10/27/13 10:08 PM
sk8rcruz said...
This class is actually difficult to watch for many reasons. Painful, actually.
6/29/14 1:31 AM
lgrande said...
Thanks to everyone for the reviews of this class. I was pretty sure I wanted to enroll until I read the comments posted here. I know now that this is truly not a class I would enjoy or gain anything from watching. Thanks for saving me the time and money.
7/19/14 10:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.