SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Picture Tutorial: Binding with Perfection

Viewed 5985 times
Posted by: sewingsilly
photo

 
 
About sewingsilly star
FL USA
Member since: 1/29/10
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 9 people
tips added: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/30/13 5:38 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Binding done well can give a professionally finished look to any project, however it can be difficult to achieve an even uniform look. Pushing or pulling the bias while sewing can end up looking horrible!! (dare I say, "homemade") I have a technique that works like a charm.
I hope you find this tutorial helpful.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
purplebouquet said...
Sewingsilly, I wanted to post back on a couple of modifications I made, but first I want to express my thanks to you again for sharing your wisdom with your detailed tutorial. It was very helpful. Here are the two changes I made: I fused fusible interfacing, rather than stitching it on. Then, later in the process, I used double-sided fusible tape, http://www.voguefabricsstore.com/Design-Plus-Ultra-Soft-Double-Sided-Fusible-By-L.J.-Designs.html, to "baste" the folded-over bias binding in place. That held it much better than pins and looked cleaner, but added no body or bulkiness. Again, thanks for sharing your technique.
3/5/13 2:25 PM
seweibhlin said...
terrific
2/1/13 9:22 AM
Carlamari said...
Thank you for sharing this - I am going to give it a try
1/31/13 6:56 PM
sewingsilly said...
Thanks for your questions purplebouquet. This is my method, you may choose to modify it where ever you would like to suit your own needs, however I'm happy to address each of your questions. 1. You may replace the interfacing with the staystitching providing you use a bonded interfacing without stretch. 2. I would not use a craft fusible as a fusible facing. Could add too much bulk or make the needle gummy. 3. Using a bias fusible tape would allow the neckline to stretch which is what your trying to avoid. Making my own facing that is exactly the same as my neckline shape keeps it exactly in shape. I like that I got you thinking about ways to possibly modify my method. I would love to hear you give your ideas a try and let me know how it works out.
1/31/13 12:38 PM
purplebouquet said...
Your finished neckline looks great and I am intrigued by your method. Thank you for taking the time to demonstrate your technique. I have a couple of questions, please. Why do you staystitch if you're also using interfacing? I thought one replaced the other. Could the stitching of the interfacing serve as staystitching at the same time? Have you tried using interfacing that can be fused on both sides so you wouldn't have to stitch it into place? And finally, do you think you could use bias fusible tape instead of creating a "facing"? That would be a bit faster. I sound as if I am interrogating you, but I don't mean to do that. Just honestly curious and eager to learn more. Thank you.
1/31/13 12:26 PM
sewingsilly said...
It's 1/8" wider so the binding overlaps the seam on the inside and can be stitched in the ditch.
1/31/13 11:28 AM
sewsally said...
Why is the fusible interfacing 1/8" wider than the binding?
1/31/13 10:58 AM
ChristmasHills said...
That sounds really interesting and I'm going to give it a try for sure. Thanks for sharing.
1/31/13 2:19 AM
Scheri said...
Thank you
1/31/13 1:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.