SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Cleaning lint from sergers

Viewed 5697 times
Posted by: Brine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Brine star
IL USA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/1/13 10:08 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 25 people   
I have found that the easiest and most efficient way to clean the lint from my serger is to use a pipe cleaner. Because the pipe cleaner is long and flexible it can go into those difficult to reach spaces and the lint will adhere to it for removal. I was amazed to see how much it would pick up.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
nitsel said...
What a good idea! I even have some pipe cleaners left from a project done when my kids were little--many years ago. I knew I'd find a good use for them! Thanks for sharing this.
2/2/13 0:09 AM
Pj3g said...
How clever!
2/2/13 8:59 AM
ktsews2 said...
Clever and practical........thanks !
2/2/13 9:18 AM
Sewnla said...
What a great idea. I was cleaning my serger with the tiny little brush wishing there was a way I could clean it better. Thanks
2/2/13 9:38 AM
elsew said...
Great tip. I was wondering how I was going to get into all those tiny places. Thanks for sharing.
2/2/13 10:32 AM
ASiverson said...
Very clever and practical. Thank you so very much for sharing this. I would never have thought of it.
2/2/13 9:05 PM
SavageCoco said...
I use canned air combined with a pipe cleaner. Thanks!
2/4/13 9:15 PM
LynneH said...
I used a blow dryer once. When I was in a hurry. Have to try a pipe cleaner next time.
2/16/13 6:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Buy Now
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.