SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > Craftsy - Machine Quilting with Wendy Butler Burnes

Viewed 1063 times
Posted by: Nanax4
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nanax4 star
Germany
Member since: 2/9/06
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced
classes reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/12/13 3:27 PM
Rating: star
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I had a hard time deciding whether to give this class a star or a thumbs down rating. The teacher, Wendy Butler Burnes, certainly has the knowledge and experience but I found her presentation so hard to deal with that I got to the point where I could only watch a couple of minutes at a time.

Some people say "um" or "uh" as a "filler" when they are talking. WBB says "again" even if she is saying something for the first time (and not again). I have to admit that I got a little alergic and "nit-picky" and started counting the number of times that she said "again" in a given time period. I finally gave up on the class entirely.

As I said, she knows what she is doing and the class seems well organized. I had never machine quilted before (only hand quilting) so during the time I was watching the class I did learn quite a bit - enough to get me started and interested in learning more.

I sent Craftsy an e-mail with my feedback and suggested that they first coach their instructors to help prevent such irritating speaking habits. They answered my e-mail right away and refunded my course fee - which hadn't been my reason for writing. I immediately used the refunded fee to sign up for a different Craftsy machine quilting class - this time "Beyond Basic Machine Quilting" with Ann Petersen and found Ann Petersen to be much more to my liking.

In conclusion, if you can stand (or ignore) WBB's presentation, this class offers a lot of good information to help you get started with machine quilting.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Sew Nanny said...
I agree. Certainly not my favorite Craftsy class.
1/6/14 1:37 PM
ilovetherapydogs said...
Unfortunately I purchased several of her classes before I watched the first one. She says "again" repeatedly on all of them. I received a refund for this class when I could not watch another minute. I just took the loss on the other classes. She appears to be a very nice lady but I just can't sit through her classes.
12/29/13 3:39 AM
Sunflower2499 said...
I, too,mrecieved a refund on this class. I could not stand it. I have purchased 6 other classes and loved each of them. Ni love Craftsy and their platform.
5/19/13 11:12 AM
betsey said...
I have only watched a few "chapters" of the class, and find that she's unwatchable for me. from her "agains" to those annoying earings (i don't know why, but they are sooo distracting to me!). I doubt I'll ever watch it.
4/25/13 8:58 PM
betsey said...
I have only watched a few "chapters" of the class, and find that she's unwatchable for me. from her "agains" to those annoying earings (i don't know why, but they are sooo distracting to me!). I doubt I'll ever watch it.
4/25/13 8:58 PM
Mufffet said...
I just loved her class and have signed up for several of her classes - I love her methods and her approach which is always friendly and cheerful and very open to whatever style the student's will have when they have one! She is primarily and artist - a fabric artist and is NOT a member of the quilt police. If you want fussy cutting and so on, this isn't her. I love her color use and have really been inspired by Wendy. :)
4/21/13 4:36 PM
Holivjoa said...
I too received a refund for her class. I didn't care for the class which surprised me because I take a lot of their classes.
4/13/13 1:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

More Info
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.