SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Most tape measures are 5/8" wide!

Viewed 1100 times
Posted by: Tina Rathbone
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Tina Rathbone star
CA USA
Member since: 9/16/02
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/18/13 4:50 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
I had no idea, but most tape measures are 5/8" wide, making it so much easier to add standard commercial pattern seam allowances when tissue fitting or otherwise trying to mark patterns.

Newsflash!
You might have already known this, but I truly am so happy to learn this.
Hugs,
Tina in San Diego
my blog: Artelicious, www.tina-rathbone.blogspot.com

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Pj3g said...
I did not know this either!
4/18/13 5:59 PM
Tina Rathbone said...
Yay! I hesitated to post this, thinking that surely everyone on Earth already knew it, but I figured if I could help even one other person with this info, well, who cares if I look foolish! :)
4/18/13 8:00 PM
Barbara Allino said...
Thanks so much. I had no idea either. This is very useful knowledge.
4/19/13 2:48 PM
tigergirl said...
Very handy!! I'll have to check mine (I know some of the cheapos are narrower than others)
4/20/13 7:41 AM
Laurie Lou said...
DUH!!! OMG...when I read this I realized I had bought one of those dual tracing weels and as I read this I realized using the tape measure along the seam would be so much quicker than the way I was doing it with the tracing paper. This was a great AH Ha moment ...more so than you know for me. thanks!
4/23/13 3:34 PM
NanJones said...
Count me in as one who DIDN'T know. Do much for "everybody knows this". If you have an idea or suggestion that you think "everybody knows", post it ANYWAY. You never know....
5/16/13 12:49 PM
AllNewtoMe said...
I didn't know this and shared it at my pattern drafting class--nobody else knew it either! I just used this tip when fitting a commercial pattern.
6/8/13 9:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.