SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Faux Piping

Viewed 1755 times
Posted by: Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepika starstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 360
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 295 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/23/13 4:58 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Here's a quick and easy way to add some interest to a top or a dress using a single fold bias tape. I call it "Faux Piping".

I start with a basic 1/2" single fold bias tape in a contrasting color so it would show.

1. Open the bias tape and pin it right sides together matching the edge of the garment edge to the tape. Sew 3/8 from the edge.

2. Trim the garment seam allowance to 1/4" to reduce bulk.

3. Fold everything to the wrong side but not fully. Fold so you can see a little bit of the bias tape. Before you fold, you can press if you like, but I don't think it's necessary.

4. Pin and finally topstitch 1/4" from the edge.

5. Press and wear!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
arianamaniacs said...
interesting idea!
8/24/13 6:48 AM
Adaire said...
Helpful and easy! Thanks!
8/24/13 7:51 AM
VivianZ said...
It took me by surprise. Piping is usually inserted between seams, but this is a seam finish. Really good idea.
8/24/13 8:32 AM
Pj3g said...
Very nice and I really like the fabric you're sewing it too!
8/24/13 2:19 PM
Marcia R said...
This is terrific, I will definitely be trying it. Also, I love the way you posted the URL. Could you provide a tutorial for this? Thank you!
8/24/13 11:04 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks for the lovely comments. @VivianZ, I suppose I could have called it piped seam finish :) Marcia I use pixlr.com for making my collages. They have many layouts. This way just one picture tells the whole story.
8/29/13 11:28 AM
CissieW said...
Great tip! And I get to see that gorgeous fabric from India up close!
9/10/13 11:26 AM
NanJones said...
This might be a nice way to finish a skirt hem.
9/11/13 12:24 PM
petro said...
That's nice! Easier than the real thing too.
9/12/13 1:13 PM
Vgreen said...
Faux piping
4/5/14 6:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.