SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Unpick a cover stitch

Viewed 1000 times
Posted by: NhiHuynh
photo

 
 
About NhiHuynh starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/4/11
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/3/14 10:53 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Unpicking a cover stitch use to be a maddening process for me. I would learn to live with a wonky hem or sew a second row because I was so time consuming and difficult to rip out. I experimental for a while and found this method.

You need to start on the underside of where you ended up stitching. The photo shows you where you need to put your seam ripper and cut the 3 threads. Then the whole darn thing unravels. You can see more pics and a video of me doing it here http://www.detectivehoundstooth.com/unpicking/

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


16 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewLibra said...
Wow, this is so helpful! I never thought to use anything other than a seam ripper, and I dread unpicking a serger seam. Thank you so much.
1/3/14 11:50 PM
wendyrb said...
Thanks for doing the detective work on ripping the coverstitch. That's a new one on me and I'll definitely be using it. Unless I become a perfect person soon!
1/4/14 0:48 AM
minasmom said...
Really appreciate this...thanks so much!
1/4/14 2:57 AM
BMoyer said...
all the videos are really helpful thanks a bunch for posting them!
1/4/14 4:19 AM
NVK said...
Thank you for the videos, they are very helpful. I like the pull and gather method of removing the stitches.
1/4/14 8:24 AM
ASiverson said...
It is super helpful, especially with the link you've provided. Thank you so very, very much!
1/4/14 9:08 AM
Adaire said...
Thanks so much for "unraveling" the mystery of this dreadful chore and for sharing it with us.
1/4/14 9:14 AM
VivianZ said...
Wow is right. Thanks so so much!
1/4/14 9:59 AM
Patti B said...
Brilliant! Thanks for sharing.
1/4/14 2:09 PM
joann said...
This is fabulous and better than any other ideas I've seen.
1/4/14 3:34 PM
joann said...
This is fabulous and better than any other ideas I've seen.
1/4/14 3:34 PM
elsmom said...
Thanks so much for the helpful tips...I've seen other ways of doing it, but your videos were well done!
1/4/14 6:34 PM
Oh2Sew2 said...
Just got a coverstitch machine, I'll have to give your technique a go! Thank you :-)
1/4/14 11:14 PM
NhiHuynh said...
Thanks everyone. I didn't realize this would be so helpful. I almost didn't post this tip here.
1/5/14 2:33 AM
Sewandwrite said...
This is a terrific. Thanks for making the excellent, short videos! I'll use these techniques.
1/5/14 5:58 PM
sewrose said...
Genius. I have to do this more often than I care to, and now I know a better way to do it!
1/11/14 3:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.