SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Different Threading Order on Brother 1034D

Viewed 984 times
Posted by: SewLibra
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SewLibra star
CA USA
Member since: 12/2/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/4/14 0:05 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
Web site/URL: photo
For nine years I threaded my Janome Harmony serger from right to left, as per instructions. Last summer I purchased a Brother 1034D serger, and the instructions said to thread the upper looper first, then the lower looper, then the right and left needles. That means you should thread number 3 first, then 4, then 2, and then 1. I did that a few times and found it frustrating because the upper looper being already threaded was in the way. After that, I started threading the 1034D from right to left, just like the Janome. It works fine, first time and every time for six months now. Really, as long as the 1034D is threaded correctly, it doesn't know the order in which you threaded it!

Of course I cannot recommend this for all sergers, but if you think it's easier this way, like I do, then I don't think it will ruin your serger to just try it. If all else fails, follow the instructions - lol. :-)

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Alice said...
I have that serger and I LOVE it, it's so easy to thread. I previously had a serger made by Bernette and it was a pain, spent more time threading it than sewing. Who said a inexpensive serger is nothing but junk?? I paid just under $200 brand new and it is a breeze to use and has never failed me. I'll use your tip next time I sew and I appreciate your tip.
2/11/14 10:20 PM
rtwgirl said...
My Brother must be finicky - it won't serge if I do that; I know, I have done it (mistakenly) several times!
1/25/14 8:03 AM
pakrk said...
Thanks for the tip! I always wondered why the distinct order - I always did it but could never see why! :)
1/10/14 2:46 PM
Pj3g said...
No, it's good you wrote this tip so others can see it!!! My tip is old. I even asked at a dealer's once (when customers were in the store) why serger manuals always say machines must be threaded in a certain order when in fact it doesn't matter. They immediately ssshhhh'd me and quietly said many people thread it wrong if they don't follow a specific order. So as you said, if it's threaded correctly, the order of the threading doesn't matter at all!!!
1/5/14 2:20 PM
SewLibra said...
Thanks for the support Pj3g. I didn't see your tip, or I wouldn't have posted this! But it gets to me when something goes wrong with someone's serger and people suggest it's all because they may have threaded in the wrong order. They may have threaded it wrong....but not in the "wrong order".
1/5/14 12:58 PM
Pj3g said...
So glad you wrote this tip! You're right, threading order doesn't matter. I've written about this on the message boards and even wrote this tip about it being not necessary to rethread everything, but some people insist you must or you will wreck your serger. You won't. All that matters is that the threads are laying how they should be coming out by the presser foot.
1/5/14 9:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

More Info
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.