SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > 2013 Block of the Month with Laura Nownes (Craftsy)

Viewed 700 times
Posted by: Sew Nanny
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sew Nanny starstarstar
United States
Member since: 8/13/06
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
classes reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/6/14 12:34 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
This class is Free. I also enrolled in the 2012 Block of the Month Craftsy Class and am so happy that the 2014 Block of the Month Class is now available. Yea, Craftsy!

Laura Nownes is a nationally recognized quilting instructor and has also written a couple of books. She has a very quiet voice and made me feel like she was talking to me and not at a camera. I started this class at the beginning of last year and followed along month to month. I looked forward to every segment and couldn't wait for the next lesson. This is another sampler quilt with each block using a different technique. The techniques taught in this class seemed a little more challenging than the 2012 class and I learned a lot. One class covers hand applique, which I enjoyed. The blocks are all different sizes, so when it came to sewing them together there was a little more involved than just sewing the blocks in rows and sewing the rows together. I haven't quilted mine yet, but I did complete the quilt top.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SouthernStitch said...
How did I miss this quilt top? Thanks so much for sharing your quilt top, and the info on the class. Yours is gorgeous!
1/10/14 11:16 AM
Sew Nanny said...
You don't have to buy the fabric kit and can use your own fabric if you want to. They offered a fabric kit for the 2012 and 2013 classes too.
1/9/14 3:43 PM
sew4grands said...
When I checked for the 2014 BOM, is comes as a kit this year, too bad, I want to do it in my on fabrics and colors
1/9/14 1:40 PM
cherylwashere said...
Thank you...I'll check it again.
1/8/14 9:46 PM
Sew Nanny said...
No, you should be able to find Nov. and Dec. They're on finishing the quilt and sewing the binding.
1/8/14 11:28 AM
cherylwashere said...
Thank you SN...nice it was in your stash already... I started class and did not finish...of course I was doing 3 at the same time. Today I realized I had not printed all classes and did so today... Does it end with October??? There isn't a Nov or Dec... Thank you
1/8/14 11:18 AM
Sew Nanny said...
Found it -- Thanks!
1/8/14 9:09 AM
Melinda In Tulsa said...
As of today, I was able to find it. Do a search for 2014 Block of the month. It's different from the previous two BOM's.
1/8/14 0:11 AM
Sew Nanny said...
Thank you very much! No, this is a different fabric line -- Benartex Bold and Beautiful. I had this fabric in my stash for a quilt that I never got around to making.
1/7/14 6:27 PM
cherylwashere said...
Your quilt top is lovely and looks just like the teachers... Did you purchase the kit from the class...if not you matched it perfectly...
1/7/14 5:59 PM
Melinda In Tulsa said...
Waiting impatiently for it also. Glad you mentioned FB cypher. I missed that post.
1/7/14 10:16 AM
Sew Nanny said...
Yea!!
1/7/14 7:27 AM
Cypher said...
Craftsy is having a BOM for 2014, it isn't complete yet. I found that info on their Facebook page.
1/6/14 6:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

More Info
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.