SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Medical Paper Tape

Viewed 1075 times
Posted by: Princess Aurora
photo

 
 
About Princess Aurora star
AZ USA
Member since: 6/9/08
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/9/14 4:55 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Professionally, I am a Registered Nurse. As such, I have a tendency to have pockets full of supplies when I get home from a shift at the hospital. I usually try to empty my pockets before I leave, but this is not always the case. I recently have been commissioned to put together a wedding dress and was given a pattern to use as the base. There were multiple tears and some holes in the tissue pattern paper. *light goes on!* I went to the bowl of unused supplies from work and pulled out a roll of Paper Tape that is commonly used to hold a surgical dressing in place. The tape is not repositional, but held up to the ironing of the tissue beautifully (Mom always taught me to iron my pattern pieces before cutting out the fabric.). I had tried painters' tape before and it either would melt or curl when ironed. The only good thing about the painters' tape was that, even on tissue paper, I was able to reposition the tape if needed.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
carolrv said...
I am a retired nurse, and can remember using the same paper tape as an emergency hem repair. Yes, our uniforms were dresses in the 60s and 70s. (Pant were starting to show up in the 70's-much more modest!) The paper tape was amazing and would even survive when the uniform was laundered.
1/10/14 7:17 AM
ASiverson said...
Who'd have thought? Thank you so very much!
1/10/14 9:42 AM
chacha45 said...
Where do we get it?
1/10/14 10:38 AM
TRQ said...
Where can you buy this tape?
1/10/14 9:31 PM
roziebelle said...
I am pretty sure it is sold in Walmart
1/10/14 9:53 PM
Pj3g said...
Nexcare Paper Tape is the best paper tape! It is repositionable and you can buy it everywhere...Walmart, grocery store or pharmacy. Do NOT buy generic paper tape. They are stickier and don't remove as well. Nexcare is removeable even on thin pattern tissue.
1/11/14 8:09 AM
SandiMacD said...
Another retired RN here. Yes, hemmed many a skirt and pant and so many uses. Once stuck, it generally stays forever, nigh on impossible to remove. Good tip.
1/11/14 9:20 PM
Fictionfan said...
I've used Micropore paper tape for almost 30 yrs to tape pattern alterations that I trace onto medical exam paper. It is definitely repositionable with good quality exam table paper
3/10/14 11:53 PM
Fictionfan said...
comment continued: Brand 3M Micropore tape is what I bought along with a roll of exam paper from Nancy's Notions about 25 years ago sold as pattern tracing paper and tape. The other brands I've tried (Curad, McKesson) don't tear as easily and are more sticky so they don't reposition well. I also use the 3M tape as basting tape when sewing lapped or centered zippers, instead of pinning and when I don't care to gunk up my needle with Wash Away Wonder Tape. It sticks just enough and not too much on most fabrics (test!). I wrote a tip about it several years ago. Thanks for writing your tip and reminding me to get another roll! I've found it at most drug stores in the bandages section along with all the other tapes. The pharmacist or store manager can order it if you can't find it. Medical Arts Press (A Staples company) also sells it by the box of 6? or more rolls. NAYY. Thanks!
3/11/14 0:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.