SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Flat metal washers/pattern weights

Viewed 1363 times
Posted by: tlc246
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tlc246 star
NY United States
Member since: 5/3/13
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/6/14 10:32 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I purchased flat metal washers at Debbie Supply Shop and use them for pattern weights. I think they work especially well for PDF patterns that you print at home. It releases the stress of pinning. I purchased a box of 20, size 1-1/4 for under $18. Prices vary, but I think it is more cost effective than if you purchase the pretty pattern weights at craft and sewing stores. Of course, you can always use a can of creamed corn.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Sharon48 said...
I use these, but have covered mine with scraps of fabric. They really do work great!
5/7/14 1:24 AM
Sewnforever said...
Great idea. I was just thinking last night whilst cutting out that I must buy some more weights - off to the DIY shop I go!
5/7/14 3:09 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks! Looking at your link, I couldn't find the exact washer that you are recommending. By the way, I used to use small cans of fruit, but, over time, some of the cans broke open (somehow) and made a mess! I've used nuts from Home Depot since then, but now I would like to try your big washers.
5/7/14 7:02 AM
tlc246 said...
Wow, I'm glad this helped someone. JDpenelope, sorry I did not find the exact size that I used. I wanted everyone to see the variety of washers they could use.
5/7/14 6:14 PM
justgail said...
try looking for fender washers....they come in zinc plated or stainless steel
5/8/14 1:53 PM
Davina511 said...
Try looking for some in Home Depot or Lowes, they may be cheaper.
5/9/14 12:58 PM
SewRaeMe said...
My husband gave me so and they work great, I also have covered mine with bias tape.
5/13/14 10:22 AM
Kimbra8 said...
I got mine at a local hardware store.. I love them..
5/18/14 3:32 PM
helenkosings said...
went out and bought a box of them after reading your tip. Thanks!
5/21/14 12:10 PM
JUSTMIMME said...
Hi I purchased the largest flat washers from the DYI, then to add weight, I super glued at least 6 together. Works a treat holds the pattern in place perfectly. Very inexpensive as well.
5/22/14 0:16 AM
JDpenelope said...
Justmimme Thanks for that tip. I also bought washers at WalMart and will try supergluing a few together for more weight.
5/22/14 7:56 AM
tlc246 said...
helenkosings - That's great, I hope you get a lot of use out of them. JUSTMIMME - Super glue is a great idea to give more weight. I'll have to give that one a go.
5/22/14 8:48 AM
Arted said...
I use washers and paint them with fingernail polish on one side. I like colors I have had no problems by doing this.
6/5/14 3:15 PM
sewbehind said...
I bought my washers at TSC , the farm and more store in Canada. They are sold by the lb and come on sale frequently.
8/14/14 7:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.