SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Flat metal washers/pattern weights

Viewed 1164 times
Posted by: tlc246
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tlc246 star
United States
Member since: 5/3/13
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/6/14 10:32 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I purchased flat metal washers at Debbie Supply Shop and use them for pattern weights. I think they work especially well for PDF patterns that you print at home. It releases the stress of pinning. I purchased a box of 20, size 1-1/4 for under $18. Prices vary, but I think it is more cost effective than if you purchase the pretty pattern weights at craft and sewing stores. Of course, you can always use a can of creamed corn.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Sharon48 said...
I use these, but have covered mine with scraps of fabric. They really do work great!
5/7/14 1:24 AM
Sewnforever said...
Great idea. I was just thinking last night whilst cutting out that I must buy some more weights - off to the DIY shop I go!
5/7/14 3:09 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks! Looking at your link, I couldn't find the exact washer that you are recommending. By the way, I used to use small cans of fruit, but, over time, some of the cans broke open (somehow) and made a mess! I've used nuts from Home Depot since then, but now I would like to try your big washers.
5/7/14 7:02 AM
tlc246 said...
Wow, I'm glad this helped someone. JDpenelope, sorry I did not find the exact size that I used. I wanted everyone to see the variety of washers they could use.
5/7/14 6:14 PM
justgail said...
try looking for fender washers....they come in zinc plated or stainless steel
5/8/14 1:53 PM
Davina511 said...
Try looking for some in Home Depot or Lowes, they may be cheaper.
5/9/14 12:58 PM
SewRaeMe said...
My husband gave me so and they work great, I also have covered mine with bias tape.
5/13/14 10:22 AM
Kimbra8 said...
I got mine at a local hardware store.. I love them..
5/18/14 3:32 PM
helenkosings said...
went out and bought a box of them after reading your tip. Thanks!
5/21/14 12:10 PM
JUSTMIMME said...
Hi I purchased the largest flat washers from the DYI, then to add weight, I super glued at least 6 together. Works a treat holds the pattern in place perfectly. Very inexpensive as well.
5/22/14 0:16 AM
JDpenelope said...
Justmimme Thanks for that tip. I also bought washers at WalMart and will try supergluing a few together for more weight.
5/22/14 7:56 AM
tlc246 said...
helenkosings - That's great, I hope you get a lot of use out of them. JUSTMIMME - Super glue is a great idea to give more weight. I'll have to give that one a go.
5/22/14 8:48 AM
Arted said...
I use washers and paint them with fingernail polish on one side. I like colors I have had no problems by doing this.
6/5/14 3:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.