SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > DIY bobbin storage

Viewed 1117 times
Posted by: petro
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About petro starstarstar
France
Member since: 6/24/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 16 people
tips added: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/17/14 1:25 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Another idea for storing those bobbins with some thread on them so that they don't get into a tangle. I'm using the plastic tubes which hold soluble paracemol, vitamin C etc. They are just about the right diameter, the smaller ones hold 4 or 5 bobbins, the larger ones 7 or 8.
So as to be able to see what colour thread is one the bobbins I cut a narrow slit vertically down the tube using a box cutter heated briefly in a gas flame. I have the slit about a quarter of an inch wide, just enough to see the colours but not distorting the tube.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Moxie Carol said...
An alternative tube available in the US - the tubes used for homeopathic remedies.
6/18/14 1:31 PM
ASiverson said...
I like this tip; it is an easy and useful one. TFS!
6/18/14 9:41 AM
JDpenelope said...
PS — I noticed a few typos in prior comments, but the edit function isn't working yet. Sorry for the typo in your name above.
6/18/14 9:40 AM
JDpenelope said...
Petro — Gosh, thanks! Now I almost want to order some of those vitamin c tablets just for the plastic tubes! Hahaha.
6/18/14 9:38 AM
petro said...
Penelope the tubes are made of plastic. Like this http://www.healthspan.co.uk/products/vitamin-c-effervescent-1000mg. Many other vitamins and drugs use the same type of packaging here.
6/18/14 8:02 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Good idea!
6/18/14 5:02 AM
JDpenelope said...
petri, Are these containers small tubes, like what holds a roll of toilet paper or paper towel, but smaller and made of plastic? I'm not familiar with this material, but it seems like a good idea. I use the small hair bands from WalMart to keep the thread on bobbins, then store them in 3 small ziplock bags, marked "Light colored," "Medium colors" and "Dark colors." Not the best method, so I'll be alert for the right tube size for your diy technique. Seems that I'm always throwing stuff away that could be used, but I'm not sure how. Thanks.
6/18/14 4:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.