SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > marking skirt hem by yourself

Viewed 6087 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/1/04 5:04 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 35 people   
Phyllis' hem tip made me remember this one. This tip is for people who have no help or special tools to mark their skirt or dress hems.
Tape a piece of string across a doorway. Use a ruler to measure each side of the doorway, from the floor up, for placement of the string, so it's level. Using plain school chalk, rub the string so it's full of chalk dust. Then wearing the dress or skirt, stand next to the string and slowly turn around so the chalk dust makes marks on the fabric. This really works...I've got my chalked string in a baggie, waiting to be reused.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
kathi s said...
Clever! I'll save that one.
5/1/04 8:32 AM
ChrisK said...
Great tip, what a brilliant idea. Thanks.
5/1/04 2:09 PM
SewTwin said...
Cool! I am going to be hemming a "soft" hem soon, and this will help! I will try it, and let you know!! Thanks for the tip!
5/2/04 4:58 AM
CycleGal said...
What a great tip!! Good for when DBF groans when its time to hem something....
5/2/04 8:46 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I think I remember reading this one before somewhere but very timely now. Thanks for adding this to tips.
5/2/04 3:57 PM
May May said...
Thanks Phyllis, that's a great tip and I plan to use it.
5/10/04 10:11 PM
ChubbyBaby said...
Really neat tip!!! I'm going to try it the next time I make a skirt ;) Thanks!
5/20/04 3:33 AM
Clev said...
Good one helpful person, I'm going to try it. :)
7/7/05 8:29 PM
regine said...
Excellent idea, thanks so much.
1/22/06 1:14 AM
sewbehind said...
Brilliant. I am going to use that one. I must wear gloves when working with the chalk though. It gives me the creeps.
6/6/07 10:44 PM
busyozmum said...
Oh my goodness, what a wonderful tip! Love it, love it, love it! Thank you so much for sharing this.
9/6/07 2:13 AM
Patricia Dee said...
would never have thoughtr of doing it thsi way. Thanks I will try it.
1/15/08 10:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Buy Now
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.