SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Fray-Check, how to soften

Viewed 7844 times
Posted by: PVA
photo

 
 
About PVA star
OR USA
Member since: 3/28/04
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/4/04 9:54 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   Off-topic by 1 people   
Featured in the PR book!
We all dislike the way fray-check hardens as it dries. To counteract that, as soon as you apply it, steam-iron it until it is dry. Don't leave the iron on it -- just keep ironing & steaming the spot until you can see it is dry. That keeps the fabric dry, and it will be soft.

8/7/04 To clarify, while steaming it you're actually ironing it, back & forth so as not to scorch the fabric -- the point is to keep ironing it with the iron steaming until you can see that the fabric is dry. When the fabric has cooled it is then soft to the touch.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
cheryldimont said...
i would highly reccommend using a pressing cloth between the fabric and the iron plate; otherwise, one risks gumming up the iron plate.
1/17/08 12:30 PM
AnneM said...
Hi Pat. I remembered that someone had posted this tip, and I'm about to do the collar on my speed tailoring jacket - where she recomends using fray-check at one point. So I had to go and look this up.
2/4/06 3:34 PM
Sew it seams said...
I'm going to try this too. Thanks Pat.
6/6/05 8:36 PM
pia2099 said...
thank you so much for this tip. I've strayed from fray check for this very reason. I'll iron it next time again thank you ann
6/5/05 11:55 PM
PVA said...
8/15/04 Maria: Yes , for this to work, the iron is in full contact with the fabric.
8/15/04 10:31 AM
SewVeryTall said...
comments are out of order...hmmmm...also, oops, it's "scorch"
8/14/04 9:16 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Maria...in answer to your question, yes. The wording is a little confusing. Where PVA says "don't leave the iron on it" she means "don't leave the iron in one place", keep it moving like you always do in ironing, so it doesn't scortch. Where she says "that keeps the fabric dry" she means "the ironing will dry the fray-check".
8/14/04 4:27 AM
Maria Hatfield said...
So your actually touching the iron to the fabric with the steam coming out of the iron, right ?
8/13/04 12:19 PM
PVA said...
StitchMD, I have clarified the point in the review. Thanks for the question, there is a distinct difference between steaming and ironing! (8^D)
8/7/04 10:01 AM
Stitchology said...
Do you make contact with the iron or just hold it close enough to steam the surface?
8/6/04 10:12 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Thanks for this great tip. I have used fray-check many times and I love this idea. I'm sure I will be using it in the near future.
8/6/04 9:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.