Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Buttonhole placement for jackets and blouses (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5388 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 20 people   
Posted by: els
photo
About els starstar
NA NETHERLANDS
Member since: 1/28/03
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 49 people
tips added: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/5/05 6:01 PM
Last Updated: 5/10/06 9:04 PM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
If you are not sure which size button you need for your blouse or jacket, or if you want to use a different size than the pattern suggest, you can use a rule of thumb.

The size of the button will depend on the overlap (distance from center front till edge) you are using on your garment.
A guide for this is when the garment is buttoned up the distance from the edge till the button should be ½ of the diameter of the button or a tiny bit less.
You can measure this on your pattern.

A horizontal placed buttonhole starts always 1/8 or 3mm away from the center front marking line towards the edge.
You can adjust/alter the pattern for the overlay and underlay to match the size of buttons you want to use.
This rule of thumb is just a guide and not a obligation.

The link for the diagram is from Burda sewing technique book.

Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
meanjean said...
This is one of those little details that has perplexed me since there are often times when I want a different button size. Thanks for this "rule of thumb".
7/6/05 2:04 PM
Sew_K said...
Thanks so much for sharing this information! I've printed it to store in my sewing binder for future reference.
7/9/05 6:45 PM
MaryBeth said...
So glad you've brought this to our attention, Els. I believe that the extra 1/8" is to account for the width of the button shank or thrad used to attached the button, right?
5/10/06 9:59 PM
els said...
MaryBeth you are right that is the purpose for the extra 1/8.
5/10/06 10:31 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I don't know how I missed this over a year ago!
8/16/06 11:33 PM
said...
Thanks for this information. I am finishing a jacket & am at the button stage. I bought buttons larger than the pattern called for & hoped it would work as I was making the jacket from one I had seen in a high end store. Now I know that my buttons will work!
8/21/08 9:52 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us