SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Buttonhole placement for jackets and blouses

Viewed 5564 times
Posted by: els
photo

 
 
About els starstar
NA NETHERLANDS
Member since: 1/28/03
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 48 people
tips added: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/5/05 6:01 PM
Last Updated: 5/10/06 9:04 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
If you are not sure which size button you need for your blouse or jacket, or if you want to use a different size than the pattern suggest, you can use a rule of thumb.

The size of the button will depend on the overlap (distance from center front till edge) you are using on your garment.
A guide for this is when the garment is buttoned up the distance from the edge till the button should be ½ of the diameter of the button or a tiny bit less.
You can measure this on your pattern.

A horizontal placed buttonhole starts always 1/8 or 3mm away from the center front marking line towards the edge.
You can adjust/alter the pattern for the overlay and underlay to match the size of buttons you want to use.
This rule of thumb is just a guide and not a obligation.

The link for the diagram is from Burda sewing technique book.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
meanjean said...
This is one of those little details that has perplexed me since there are often times when I want a different button size. Thanks for this "rule of thumb".
7/6/05 2:04 PM
Sew_K said...
Thanks so much for sharing this information! I've printed it to store in my sewing binder for future reference.
7/9/05 6:45 PM
MaryBeth said...
So glad you've brought this to our attention, Els. I believe that the extra 1/8" is to account for the width of the button shank or thrad used to attached the button, right?
5/10/06 9:59 PM
els said...
MaryBeth you are right that is the purpose for the extra 1/8.
5/10/06 10:31 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I don't know how I missed this over a year ago!
8/16/06 11:33 PM
said...
Thanks for this information. I am finishing a jacket & am at the button stage. I bought buttons larger than the pattern called for & hoped it would work as I was making the jacket from one I had seen in a high end store. Now I know that my buttons will work!
8/21/08 9:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.