SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Store Reviews > G Street Fabrics (Rockville, Maryland)

10 more reviews
Viewed 315 times
 
Reviewed by: HanPanda
photo

 
 
About HanPanda star
Member since: 4/27/08
Reviews written: 51
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
stores reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on: 6/24/14 7:33 AM
Rating: thumbsup thumbsup
Address: 11854 Rockville Pike
Rockville
Maryland 20852
United States
Phone: 301-231-8998
Features: Sewing Machine Dealer
Notions
General Sewing Store
Fabric
Visit Website
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Have you bought anything from this store? If yes were the prices competitive?
I have only bought a couple buckles from here BECAUSE I find the prices to be absurd. Their buttons and buckles section is the only thing worthwhile to me. Their clearance section is a good price--$2.97/yd I think. But its a huge mishmashed pile of twisted fabric and it is rather overwhelming to go through that. Cotton knit? Some $17/yd.

Were the sales people polite and friendly?
Not particularly.

How would you rate the quality of the item this store sells?
The buckles I got were great. 10/10 would buy again. My friend has gotten some LOVELY fabric for a song off the discount table in Centreville, but I have not found anything here. Or any of the stores actually.

How was your shopping experience. Is there anything you did not like about this store?
The store is downstairs from a gym. Not a problem, right? WRONG. Constant THUMPing of dropping weights and dumbells and the notions room is under the treadmills. Chnk chnk chnk chnk chnk chnk chnk isn't a nice shopping soundtrack. Also the sales folks were not pleasant or understood my question about competitor coupons. (p.s., they don't take them.)

Would you shop here again?
If I need particularly unique buttons or buckles, yes. Otherwise, not worth your time.

Would you recommend this store to others?
Not really, unless you need a Bernina or a Bernina dealer. From what I understand, they're the only ones in the area.

Any other comments you would like to add?
Some folks have better experiences than I do. I think mine is also tempered by the fact that I am treated disrespectfully at times, presumably because I am young as far as I can tell. That's just not okay to me.
*LOGIN to add a comment on this review
* Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!

5 Comments
dbsewer said...
I don't think their prices are absurd, but maybe if you shop JoAnn's and some of the other stores that carry cheap fabrics you'd find G Street pricey. Unfortunately, Mr. G's sons took over the business when he retired and have been slowly running it into the ground. This used to be a premier shopping destination for great fabrics for those of us who sew garments and want quality, but that's not the case anymore.
6/24/14 8:20 AM
annenet said...
I find the people at Centerville very friendly. They frequently do sales, coupons and Living Social. If you get a really nice cotton double knit at $17, 25% off and a 10% coupon it's more than worth it. I stop there a lot and have found some wonderful things still there. I don't find the pricing absurd either.
6/24/14 9:15 AM
mamacita said...
Oh dear, I wrote a very frank review of this store in 2005 and have not had a chance to go back since . It sounds as if it has deteriorated a lot since then. It used to be two story. It has since moved and is underneath a gym? It might not be around much longer and this makes me sad as I have so many fond memories of being there with my mom...back in the day when it was actually on G street..
6/25/14 0:09 AM
annenet said...
They moved the Rockville Store a few years ago. It's not the location I go to so I'm not all that familiar - I've been there once though. I still shop at Falls Church and Centerville a lot and frequently find what I'm looking for. And the fabric they have is still very good, just not as much. Frankly it's the only place I've seen locally that carries Wooley Nylon for example.
6/25/14 8:00 AM
mmcp said...
test
6/25/14 10:00 PM

Add a Store Review    Read All Store Reviews
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.